Deadline extended: call for nominations for President’s University-Wide Teaching Awards

Female conference lecture teacher professor

The President’s University-Wide Teaching Awards honour those who, through innovation and commitment, have significantly enhanced the quality of learning by York University students.

The nomination period has been extended until April 17 at 11:50 p.m. ET.

Nominations are now open for the four awards that are offered each year in the following categories:

  • full-time tenured faculty with 10 or more years of full-time teaching experience;
  • full-time faculty (tenured/tenure-stream/CLA) with less than 10 years of teaching experience;
  • contract and adjunct faculty; and
  • teaching assistants.

The purpose of these awards is to provide significant recognition for excellence in teaching, to encourage its pursuit, to publicize such excellence when achieved across the University and in the wider community, and to promote informed discussion of teaching and its improvement.

The awards demonstrate the value York University attaches to teaching. Recipients of the awards, selected by the Senate Committee on Awards, receive $3,000 (less applicable deductions), have their names engraved on the University-Wide Teaching Award plaques in Vari Hall and are recognized at convocation ceremonies.

Nominators are encouraged to approach the Teaching Commons to explore ways to best highlight the teaching strengths and accomplishments of the nominee. Nominators may schedule a consultation –  by phone or Zoom – with an educational developer at the Teaching Commons to discuss the preparation of a nomination package by sending a request to Interested parties are also invited to view the recording of the Teaching Commons’ Award Winners Roundtable to hear reflections from Teaching Awards recipients.

Only online nominations for the 2024 Teaching Awards submitted by 11:59 p.m. on Wednesday, April 17, 2024, will be accepted.

The Teaching Awards criteria and nomination form are available on the Senate Committee on Awards web page.