Five York community members invested to Order of Canada

Order of canada medal laid out on black background

Five individuals with connections to York University are among the 85 new appointments to the Order of Canada, announced in June by Governor General of Canada Mary Simon.

The new member list includes one Officer (O.C.) and four Members (C.M.). The Order of Canada is one of the highest honours awarded to civilians in Canada. Created in 1967, it recognizes people whose service shapes society, whose innovations ignite imaginations and whose compassion unites communities.  


The Honourable Robert James Sharpe, donor
Sharpe was appointed for his distinguished contributions to the advancement of law in Canada as both a judge and academic.


John Anthony Lederer, alumni, donor
Lederer was appointed for his leadership in business, and for his philanthropy in support of the community and health sectors.

Daniel Levy, former student
Levy was appointed for his trailblazing advocacy of 2SLGBTQI+ communities, and for advancing Canadian television as a critically acclaimed actor, writer, director and producer.

Susan Swan, former faculty, donor
Swan was appointed for her contributions to Canadian literature and culture, and for her mentorship of the next generation of writers.

Robert J. Foster, donor
Foster was appointed for his visionary leadership and acumen as a successful entrepreneur and for his transformational contributions to developing Toronto’s arts communities.

Wendy Ruth Eisen, donor
Eisen was appointed for her commitment to enhancing the welfare of Jewish people and Canadian society as a whole through her philanthropy, volunteerism and activism.

More than 7,600 people from all sectors of society have been invested into the Order of Canada. Appointments are made by the governor general on the recommendation of the Advisory Council for the Order of Canada. For more information about the Order of Canada program, visit