Former dean appointed to Ontario appellate court continues Osgoode legacy

Close-up photo of judge's gavel on a desk with unseen figure writing on paper in the background

Justice Patrick Monahan has become the third former dean of Osgoode Hall Law School to be appointed to the Court of Appeal for Ontario, joining Justice Lorne Sossin and Supernumerary Justice James MacPherson.

Patrick Monahan close-up portrait
Patrick Monahan

Federal Minister of Justice and Attorney General David Lametti announced the appointment May 15. Monahan replaces Justice I.V.B. Nordheimer, who became a supernumerary judge effective Sep. 1, 2022.

An Osgoode graduate and, later, a faculty member for more than two decades, Monahan served as dean of the law school from 2003 to 2009. He went on to become provost and vice-president academic of York University from 2009 to 2012 and deputy attorney general for Ontario from 2012 to 2017. He was appointed to the Superior Court of Justice of Ontario in 2017.

Similarly, MacPherson was Osgoode dean from 1988 to 1993, while Sossin’s term stretched from 2010 to 2018.

The three former deans share the Court of Appeal bench with 10 other Osgoode graduates, including Chief Justice of Ontario Michael Tulloch (LLB ’89). Other graduates include Justice David Brown (LLM ’05), Justice Steve Coroza (LLM ‘03), Justice C. William Hourigan (LLB ’90), Justice Alexandra Hoy (’78), Justice Peter Lauwers (LLM ’83), Justice Sarah Pepall (LLM ’83), Justice Gary Trotter (LLM ’90) and Justice Benjamin Zarnett (’75).

Osgoode graduates have served at every level of court across Canada, including the Supreme Court of Canada, where three graduates are current sitting judges: Justice Malcolm Rowe (LLB ’78), Justice Andromache Karakatsanis (LLB ’80) and Justice Michelle O’Bonsawin (LLM ‘14), the apex court’s first Indigenous justice.