LA&PS highlights student achievements in social sciences

Award stock image banner from pexels

York University’s Department of Social Science in the Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies (LA&PS) hosted its annual Student Awards ceremony to celebrate the notable achievements of students in various disciplines within social science. The event, held on March 15, brought together staff, faculty, family and friends.

Dean J.J. McMurtry, of LA&PS, opened the awards ceremony by emphasizing the importance of celebrating the hard work and dedication each student has put into their program. “We are a Faculty in the University that is engaged in trying to make meaningful change in the world, and the excellent work that all of you have done in your various areas will be a part of that change going forward as you graduate and go out into the world,” he said.

LA&PS Social Sciences Student Award winners with their certificates
Professor Teresa Abbruzzese, coordinator of the Urban Studies Program, and Professor Douglas Young pose with winners of one of the urban studies awards

This year, 36 awards were announced and presented to undergraduate students

This year’s awards and winners are as follows:

Department Awards

Gordon Lowther Scholarship: Gundega Daugavietis
Otto Friedman Memorial Scholarship: Priya Basra
Otto Friedman Memorial Scholarship: Liam Ryan
The Department of Social Science Award: Jesuran Prakashkumar
Ellen Baar Award in Social Science: Ariana Zunino
Lillian Lerman Book Prize: Kiyanna Malcolm
Lillian Lerman Book Prize: Maria Gullusci

African Studies Awards

Esiri Dafiewhare Scholarship: Zakirah Allain
The Stevenson Scholarship in African Studies: Heather Tasker

Criminology Awards

Joshua Yasay Memorial Scholarship: Favour Aina 
Criminology Honours Scholarship: Ariana Zunino
Criminology 1650 Book Prize: Olivia Tassone

Law & Society Awards

The Law and Society Honours Seminar Prize: Nashane Ralph
Jane Banfield Book Prize: Jonathan Garcia Barahona
Jane Banfield Book Prize: Elizabeth Hamilton
Jane Banfield Book Prize: Allegra Van Klink-Wylie
The Law and Society Prize: Rida Shah
The C. Jane Banfield Scholarship in the Social Sciences: Avneet Lubana

Business & Society Awards

The Business & Society Honours Award: Chi-Yun Lee

Work & Labour Studies Awards

Neil Reimer Scholarship: Julie Wilson
Work and Labour Studies Student Achievement Prize: Nguyet Dao

Health and Society Awards

Health and Society Founders Prize 2000 Level: Amen Okungbowa
Health and Society Founders Prize 3000 & 4000 Level: Jennifer Santin
The Gina Feldberg Prize: Amanda Cowen

International Development Studies & Latin American & Caribbean Studies

International Development Studies Honours Award: Sabrina de Losada Casab
The Latin American and Caribbean Studies Honours Award: Sabrina de Losada Casab
Sarah Akhtar Memorial Undergraduate Award in International Development Studies: Kyung in Lee

Development Studies Program

Sarah Akhtar Memorial Graduate Award in Development Studies: Eyram Agbe
Sarah Akhtar Memorial Graduate Award in Development Studies: Malaly Bakhtbolland

Interdisciplinary Social Science Awards

Interdisciplinary Social Science Award: Noel Mirzoyev
Interdisciplinary Social Science Award: Riya Bhatla

Urban Studies Awards

Marion Miller Urban Studies Award (3000 Level): Micah Meredith
Marion Miller Urban Studies Award (4000 Level): Jordan Lopez
The Social Science 3700 Urban Studies Prize: Steven Lum
Frances Frisken Urban Studies Prize: Bruno De Marinis
Mohamed Naim Malik Scholarship: Emily Lim