Communication & Media Studies awards recognize student excellence

York’s Department of Communication & Media Studies in the Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies (LA&PS) recently hosted its annual Student Awards Ceremony for staff, faculty, family and friends to celebrate the notable achievements of students throughout 2022.

Department Chair Ganaele Langlois commenced the virtual celebration by speaking of the history of communication and media studies and congratulating the students in attendance on another year of diligent work. Langlois then welcomed ceremony host and Program Director Rob Heynen, who introduced the awards and presenters.

This year’s awards and winners are as follows:

Dalton Kehoe Scholarship

This prize honours Professor Dalton Kehoe, who retired in 2008. It is given annually to the highest-achieving second-year student who is continuing as a major in communications and media studies. This year’s recipient was Viki Posidis.

Eric Koch Award

The Eric Koch Award is given to the student who has achieved top academic standing in the Politics, Policy and the Media course. The award honours Professor Eric Koch, a long-time member of the Communication & Media Studies Program who retired in 2003. Breton Severin received the award this year.

Jerry Durlak Prize

The Jerry Durlak prize is given to a student in the second-year Information and Technology course who has achieved top academic standing, as recommended by the course director, and is continuing into third year. The prize honours Professor Jerry Durlak, a long-time member of the program who played a crucial role in shaping the trajectory of the department. Before retiring in 2005, he also assisted in developing the graduate program Communication & Culture. Francesca Cuda was named winner of this award.

Penny Jolliffe Scholarship

The Penny Jolliffe Scholarship honours a communications and media major who has the highest achievement in the Introduction to Communications course. Penny Jolliffe’s work with automation and computers was cutting-edge and helped make York University internationally known. For her work demonstrating the spirit of Jolliffre, Maria Cedrone received this year’s award.

Reva Orlicky Memorial

This award was established by York alumni and friends to provide a bursary to a deserving upper-year student. The winning student must be taking courses in (or show an interest in) radio broadcasting in Canada. Christine Cooling was the winner of this year’s award.

York International Exchange Award

The York International Exchange Award – worth $500 annually – is given to a communications and media major who has a high overall GPA, is currently completing their honours degree, has successfully completed a York University International Exchange, and demonstrates financial need. For meeting all of these criteria, Phuc Nguyen received this year’s award.

Arthur Siegel Award

The prize is given to a student who is a double major in communication and media, and a social science, who has completed at least 60 credits, and who holds the highest cumulative grade point average among the qualified candidates. This award honours Arthur Siegel who had an illustrious career at York. Over his 34 years with the University, Siegel helped shape the program and made important contributions to media and communications. For outstanding achievement consistent across all courses, the Arthur Siegel Award went to Wendy Joyce Millen.