Glendon students recognized for leadership and engagement 


Students at York University’s Glendon Campus were recognized for their leadership in academics, as well as their contributions to the community and to Glendon. 

18 students are 2021-2022 Students Engagement Awards recipients
18 students are 2021-22 Student Engagement Awards recipients

Their achievements are highlighted through the Student Engagement Awards, where students are nominated by their peers. 

“Students are the lifeblood of the Glendon community, and these awards recognize individuals who distinguish themselves in their spheres of activity, by being the driving force behind them, whether by sitting on committees, running clubs, sharing their passion or inspiring others,” says Marco Fiola, principal of Glendon. “This year’s recipients deserve a special note of thanks, for having carried their activities through one of the most difficult academic years in recent history. I wish to sincerely thank them and express my admiration for their contributions to our community.” 

The 2021-22 awards and recipients are: 

Margaret Wallace Leadership Award – The Margaret Wallace Leadership Award has been created to benefit an outstanding student leader, with preference given to a student active in the Glendon sport community. This award was created in memory of Margaret Wallace, director of the Glendon Athletic Club, who passed away in 2012. 
Recipients: Hiru Balasuriya and Stephen Teong 

Convocation Award of Excellence for Student Leadership – Awarded to a graduating student who has been an exceptional leader, one who has made a consistent and valuable contribution to the community at Glendon. In celebration of building community, consideration will be given to the level of equity, integrity and caring that was demonstrated in the recipient’s leadership and to the positive impact this has made. 
Recipients: Brianna Carrasco and Raheela Popat 

Emerging Leader Award – Awarded in recognition of the contributions made by a Glendon student who has recently become involved in student activities and demonstrates commitment and leadership potential.  
Recipient: Cyrielle Ngeleka 

The Neal Stephenson Glendon Involvement Award – Awarded annually to a full-time continuing undergraduate Glendon student who is in good academic standing. To be eligible, students must be serving in a volunteer capacity for one of the following groups: Pro Tem, Radio Glendon, GCSU/AECG or the Faculty Council. 
Recipient: Ariana Mah 

OSA Awards – This award recognizes students who are engaged in the pursuit of multiple challenging goals and show a high degree of motivation and perseverance. 
Recipients: Eden Minichiello, Josée Philips, Mae Shibasaki and Robin Kirk 

Outstanding Contribution Awards – Awarded in recognition of the achievements of committed students who have had a positive impact at Glendon by generously dedicating their time and talents in at least one of the following areas: residence life, community building, peer mentorship, athletics, creative arts or university governance. 
Recipients: Katherine Mazzota, Marissa Buttigieg, Nadia Hayes and Sophia Tracey 

Prix Molière – Awarded to a full- or part-time student whose outstanding achievements in theatre at Glendon significantly contribute to the cultural vitality of the campus community. 
Recipient: Victoria Matchet 

Robert Wallace Award of Merit – Given annually to an undergraduate Glendon student demonstrating a strong record of involvement in, and positive contribution to, theatre, performance or visual art, while maintaining satisfactory progress in their studies. 
Recipient: Violette Daveau 

Ian Bingham Memorial Award – Awarded to a Glendon student who promoted Glendon sports activities at the local and/or inter-campus level. The candidates must have a minimum 5.50 grade point average and be nominated by members of the Glendon sports community. 
Recipient: Drew Batchilder 

John Proctor Award – Awarded to a returning Glendon student for outstanding contributions to the Glendon Athletic and Recreation program in terms of organization, leadership and program promotion. 
Recipient: Taylor Johnson 

More information about the Student Engagement Awards can be found online.