Call for Undergraduate Student Nominations to the Board of Governors

Students entering Vari, featured image for Yfile

The Student Senator Caucus (SSC) oversees nominations for student members for the Board of Governors and makes a recommendation to them based upon the election results. The election of student governors rotates annually between undergraduate and graduate/professional students.

The Board of Governors appoints its members. The SSC is responsible for nominating those members, and in practice has done so through an election. This year, the SSC has appointed Mohamed Elsayed Elgobhashy as chief returning officer and Yashna Manek as deputy returning officer. Following the election results, SSC will confirm the results and recommend to the board that the candidate with the highest vote total be appointed to the Board.

This year SSC is accepting nominations for undergraduate student nominees. Nominations will be accepted starting Monday, Feb. 28 at 9 a.m. The deadline for nominations is Monday, March 14 at 9 a.m. No late or incomplete forms will be accepted.

For further information including nomination forms, election rules, regulations and important dates, please visit the Secretariat’s website at or contact Elaine MacRae at