The Bookstore needs textbook and course kit materials for Summer 2020 by March 20

Having course materials in stock before the first day of classes continues to be the top priority at the York University Bookstore. As Summer 2020 term approaches, faculty and staff are asked to submit textbook and course kit requests as soon as possible. Early course materials submissions allow Bookstore staff to provide the best service to faculty and students. All orders for course materials that are received by March 20 will help the Bookstore staff meet that goal.

It is important to note that books from previous semesters are not normally retained. If possible, notify Bookstore staff of the requirements for the Summer 2020 term so that leftover books are retained or reordered. Books coming from overseas or the United States take longer to arrive and it is even more important that these requests are sent to the Bookstore as soon as possible.

The Bookstore continually strives to be a leader in textbook affordability for York University students. By receiving course materials orders early, the Bookstore staff are better able to secure a larger number of used textbooks which is achieved by buying textbooks back from York students and include textbooks in the Bookstore’s growing Textbook Rental Program.

Course Materials orders can be submitted to the Bookstore buyers in person, via phone, email or through the online ordering system accessed through the Faculty & Staff link available on the York University Bookstore website. For an online ordering password, faculty and staff can email orders@yorku.ca. The Bookstore pages are updated to assist faculty and staff, including a list of subjects bought by buyer.

As the world of course materials is changing fast, the Bookstore staff are happy to keep you informed will be happy to meet with you in person to help with the course materials submission process and provide the tools needed. Contact Laura Deszpa at ldeszpa@yorku.ca  to arrange a meeting. The Bookstore’s popular Course Materials Ordering Orientation Sessions are scheduled for March 24. To sign up for one of the sessions, send an email to Michael Legris at mlegris@yorku.ca.

Keele campus textbook buyers: Alan Madsen can be contacted at ext. 40730 or amadsen@yorku.ca. Elisa Morera can be reached at ext. 20945 or emorera@yorku.ca. Frank Ennis can be contacted at ext. 40701 or fennis@yorku.ca. Gerard Stocker can be reached at ext. 20047 or gstocker@yorku.ca.

Glendon campus textbook buyer: Gerard Stocker can be contacted at ext. 20047 or gstocker@yorku.ca.

Course kits: The York University Course Kit Centre is located at 043 Central Square and can be reached by phone at 416-736-2100 ext. 20203 or ext. 40727 or by email at ckits@yorku.ca. In order to ensure availability of course kit/case books for the Summer 2020 term (before or on the first day of class) the Bookstore must have materials materials by March 20. Materials submitted after March 20 will still be accepted but there may be a delay. Printing Services can review course kit/casebook materials and provide an approximate availability date within 48 hours. Every effort will be made to have the course materials/casebooks available as soon as possible.

For help and suggestions, contact Laura Deszpa, manager of Business Development and Purchasing at the Bookstore, at ext. 22063 or ldeszpa@yorku.ca.

For more York University news, photos and videos, visit the YFile homepage