Call for nominations: Mary McEwan Memorial Award 2018-19

research graphic

Named in honour of feminist psychiatrist Mary McEwan, the annual Mary McEwan Memorial Award of $1,000 will be given to one PhD dissertation in the area of feminist scholarship produced in the 2018-19 academic year at York University. An awards committee of faculty affiliated with the Centre for Feminist Research will choose the winners.

Dissertations that were recommended for awards in 2018-19 should be considered for nomination. Dissertations defended between Sept. 1, 2018 and Aug. 31, 2019 are eligible. The submission deadline is Monday, Nov. 25.

Criteria of eligibility:

  1. The nominee must be a graduate student who has successfully defended a dissertation during the 2018-19 academic year.
  2. The nominee’s dissertation must concern feminist theory and/or gender issues.
  3. The examining committee for the dissertation must unanimously recommend it for an award.

Each nomination must include:

  • a copy of the dissertation and a (no more than) one-page statement from the nominee about the contribution the dissertation makes to feminist scholarship;
  • a letter of recommendation from the student’s supervisor commenting on the nominee’s dissertation or thesis;
  • a statement from the graduate program director verifying that the nominee’s dissertation was recommended as one that should be considered for a prize; and
  • a copy of the external examiner’s report.

Nominations must be received by Julia Pyryeskina, co-ordinator, Centre for Feminist Research at 611 York Research Tower, no later than Monday, Nov. 25.

Submissions can be made and questions can be asked via email to

To learn more about the Mary McEwan Memorial Award and to see past winners, visit