Graduate scholarship and thesis prize recipients celebrated

From left: Dr. Bryan Nelson, Dean Tom Loebel, President and Vice-Chancellor Rhonda L. Lenton, Lana Foreman and Julia Gauberg

Students, faculty members and staff from the graduate community gathered on Nov. 15 to celebrate recipients of major scholarships, as well as Thesis & Dissertation Prize winners.

This includes almost $32 million in federal, provincial and other major external awards from 2014-17, and approximately $64.4 million in York University awards from 2013-17.

“We’re here to recognize all the ways that this great plural ‘you’ contributes to York, both making and representing this university as a distinct place for pioneering research,” said Tom Loebel, dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies. “The diversity of projects pursued here makes me very proud of York.”

Loebel noted the event took place in the midst of Tri-Council application season to acknowledge the hard work of applicants, as well as that of faculty and staff who invest extra time in critiquing drafts, writing letters, and administering and adjudicating files.

“Collaboration is an investment for which the process itself is the first return,” he said.

Graduate students pictured during the event

Rhonda L. Lenton, president and vice-chancellor, spoke to the University’s position as an institution that is committed to providing a broad demographic of students access to a research-intensive learning experience, and reaffirmed the commitment to the social, cultural and economic well-being of the societies we serve.

“It is incredibly rewarding to see not only the diversity of students, but the diversity across the campus of the different research projects and disciplines that you are in and are contributing, in one way or another, to the public good,” said Lenton.

Rebecca Pillai Riddell, associate vice-president research, echoed Lenton’s remarks and emphasized how graduate students and postdoctoral scholars are key drivers to the University’s success.

“As a researcher, I always say that my graduate students are the heart and soul, and often the brains, of my research enterprise,” she said.

Graduate students pictured during the event

Doctoral students Khushbu Patel (psychology) and Mohamed Duale (education) likewise shared insights into their research, and they currently hold a Natural Sciences & Engineering Research Council (NSERC) doctoral scholarship and a graduate fellowship in Academic Distinction respectively.

The event also saw the Thesis & Dissertation Prize winners of the Faculty of Graduate Studies showcased and recognized. Master’s graduates Lana Forman (music) and Julia Gauberg (biology) were present to accept a commemorative frame and award, along with PhD graduate Bryan Nelson (social and political thought).

Hosted annually by the Faculty of Graduate Studies, the Scholars Reception is an opportunity for graduate students from all disciplines to meet, network and learn about the wonderful research currently taking place across campus.