Five York University professors elected to the Royal Society of Canada

The Royal Society of Canada (RSC) has elected four York University professors to its ranks as Fellows, and one professor as a member of the RSC’s College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists.

The University’s newest members of the RSC are Faculty of Liberal Arts and Professional Studies (LA&PS) Professors Wenona Giles and Joan Judge, School of the Arts, Media, Performance & Design (AMPD) Professor Paul Sych, and Osgoode Hall Law School Professor David Vaver. Lassonde School of Engineering Professor John Moores has been named a member of the RSC’s College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists.

“York is delighted to see that Professors Wenona Giles, Joan Judge, Paul Sych and David Vaver have been recognized by the Royal Society of Canada, as Fellows; and Professor John Moores as a College Member,” said Robert Haché, vice-president Research & Innovation. “This reflects the fact that York is home to distinguished researchers and academics from all branches of academia who have made remarkable contributions in the arts, the humanities and the sciences, and Canadian public life.”

Academy of the Arts & Humanities

Division of Social Science

Wenona Giles

Wenona Giles, Department of Anthropology, LA&PS, has made significant contributions to the anthropologies of gendered migration, displacement and war. Her ground-breaking work on the gender relations of militarization and conflict, and her research and engaged scholarship on long-term forced migration ranks among the best in its field and has consistently helped to open doors to new scholarly explorations through synergistic laboratory like collaborations.

David Vaver

David Vaver, Osgoode Hall Law School, is one of the world’s preeminent scholars of intellectual property law. His pioneering work on “user rights” and the public interest has brought fairness and balance to Canada’s intellectual property system. The prolific author of many acclaimed books, edited collections, and peer-reviewed articles, his scholarship is relied on as persuasive authority by courts and lawmakers, while his teaching and mentorship have nurtured many leading minds in the field.

Division of Humanities

Joan Judge

Joan Judge, Department of History, LA&PS, has reshaped understanding of modern Chinese history through methodologically innovative studies in Chinese print culture, periodical studies and women’s history. Prominent among her publications are three books: Print and Politics: ‘Shibao’ and the Culture of Reform in Late Qing China; The Precious Raft of History: The Past, the West, and the Woman Question in China; and Republican Lens: Gender, Visuality, and Experience in the Early Chinese Periodical Press.

Division of Arts

Paul Sych

Paul Sych, Department of Design, AMPD, continues to create cutting-edge works in both digital and print that range across typography, branding and motion design, with a renowned career of graphic expression spanning three decades. His work has appeared in more than 130 books and publications worldwide. Since his appointment to the Department of Design, he has been celebrated with more than 100 international art direction, design and typography awards.

College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists

John Moores

John Moores, Department of Earth and Space Science & Engineering, Lassonde School of Engineering, is an internationally recognized planetary scientist and space engineer whose research explores the atmospheres and surfaces of other worlds. His research group has been a member of the science and operations teams of four ESA and NASA space missions to Mars and Titan and has been awarded the NASA group achievement award on 16 occasions. In this work, he has published 55 papers garnering more than 4,000 citations.

Eighty-nine new Fellows in the Academies of Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science have been elected by their peers for their outstanding scholarly, scientific and artistic achievement. Recognition by the RSC is the highest honour an individual can achieve in the Arts, Social Sciences and Sciences.

The RSC is also welcoming 52 new Members of the College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists, that includes top mid-career leaders in Canada. The college provides the RSC with a multigenerational capacity to help Canada and the world address major challenges and seize new opportunities including those identified in emerging fields.

“These exceptionally talented scholars, artists and scientists have made an outstanding mark in their fields, advancing knowledge and creating a positive impact on the world. We are thrilled to welcome them, knowing they will continue to work towards a better future for all of us based on deep knowledge and understanding of the past and present,” says RSC President Chad Gaffield.

The 2018 Fellows and Members will be welcomed into the RSC this November, in Halifax, during the RSC’s AGM, The Celebration of Excellence and Engagement. The presentation of RSC Medals and Awards, will also take place along with multiple opportunities to learn about and discuss the latest research results.

For more information, visit the RSC website.