Announcement of change of title for College Masters

Vari pond

The following is a message to the York University community from Lisa Philipps, interim vice-president academic and provost:

I am pleased to share with the University community the news that, effective Jan. 1, 2018, the title “College Master” will be replaced by the title “College Head”. This change follows consultations with the current Masters of York’s eight non-Faculty Colleges (Bethune, Calumet, Founders, McLaughlin, New, Stong, Vanier, and Winters) and the Deans of the Faculties to which they are attached; and we are all in agreement in enthusiastically supporting this change.

Responsibilities and reporting lines will not alter as a result of this title change, which reflects York University’s long-standing commitment to principles of affirmative action, equity and inclusion. Those principles have led us to examine the language we use, including the language of position titles, to ensure that we, as an institution, express ourselves in words that are clear and non-biased.

I look forward to continuing to work collaboratively with the College Heads and colleagues in the Colleges and Faculties to enhance the supports and sense of community we offer to our students.