Osgoode recognizes excellence with teaching awards


Five faculty members of York University’s Osgoode Hall Law School were recognized with teaching awards for the 2016-17 academic year during the Osgoode Convocation Dinner on June 22, 2017.

The awards went to:

• Osgoode full-time senior faculty (10 years or more teaching experience) award – Professor Mary Jane Mossman
• Osgoode full-time faculty (less than 10 years teaching experience) award – Professor François Tanguay-Renaud
• Osgoode adjunct faculty award – John No
• Osgoode professional LLM teaching award – Alison R. Manzer
• Osgoode professional development CLE contribution sward – P. Bradley Limpert

The Osgoode Hall Law School Teaching Awards are intended to honour those instructors who, through innovation and commitment, have significantly enhanced the quality of learning at Osgoode. The purpose of the awards is to provide significant recognition for excellence in teaching, to encourage its pursuit, to publicize such excellence, and to promote informed discussion of teaching and its improvement.

Nominations for these awards come from students and faculty. Each nomination is accompanied by a statement setting out how and why the faculty member has met the criteria of teaching excellence in the current academic year. Recipients are selected by a committee.