Schulich students honour best in class with teaching excellence awards

York University’s Schulich Centre for Teaching Excellence has announced this year’s recipients of the student-run Seymour Schulich Teaching Excellence Awards.

Winners were recognized at both the year-end Graduate Formal and Undergrad Formal held at the Liberty Grand in Toronto.

Student leaders credited faculty for going above and beyond, and for enriching the student experience.

“The awards are an important annual tradition in celebrating our world-class faculty,” said Frank Paul, the Graduate Business Council president. “The student experience is shaped through our incredible, thought-leading faculty, so it is important that we take the opportunity to honour their passion and dedication to student learning.”

Peter Macdonald, instructor of Strategic Management/Policy accepting the award with Dean Dezsö J. Horváth and VP of the Graduate Business Council Alisa Bialas

This year, the top faculty member in the graduate category was Peter Macdonald, instructor of Strategic Management/Policy; Klaudia Watts (MBA ’14) was ranked first in the undergraduate category.

“I applaud all of the instructors nominated for this year’s Seymour Schulich Awards for Teaching Excellence,” said Dezsö J. Horváth, dean of Schulich. “Through course evaluations, our students have identified each of this year’s nominees as having attained an exceptional level of teaching excellence. These instructors not only imparted knowledge and wisdom, they pushed our students to excel.”

Other faculty members in the top 10 rankings per category included:

• Heather Colquhoun, ORGS
• Graeme Deans, MGMT
• Alexander Fisher, ACTG
• Mariam Humayun, MKTG
• Ambrus Kecskes, FINE
• Linda Lakats, MGMT
• Peter Macdonald, SGMT
• Thomas Medcof, ORGS
• Alla Volodina, ACTG

• Greg Chiykowski, MFIN
• Graeme Deans, SGMT
• Alex Garber, MACC
• Ashwin Joshi, IMBA
• Ashley Konson, MKTG
• Kevin Tasa, ORGS
• Theodore Tolias, ECON
• Mike Valente, MSTM
• Detlev Zwick, MGMT

To learn more about the Schulich Teaching Excellence Awards or to see former award recipients, visit