Schulich Professor earns Lifetime Achievement Award

Andre Kuzmicki
Andre Kuzmicki

Andre Kuzmicki, adjunct professor at  Brookfield Centre in Real Estate and Infrastructure, Schulich School of Business, will receive the NAIOP Lifetime Achievement Award for Leadership in Industry and the Community.

Andre Kuzmicki

NAIOP, the Commercial Real Estate Development Association, is the leading organization for commercial real estate knowledge, networking and advocacy. Past recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award include JJ Barnicke, Hazel McCallion, Gordon Gray and Ed Sonshine.

“As a senior executive, as a board director, and as an educator involved in developing the next generation of business leaders in the real estate industry, Andre has built a truly impressive legacy,” said Dezsö J. Horváth, dean of the Schulich School of Business. “Andre has played a critical role in our Real Estate and Infrastructure Program for nearly two decades now, as a teacher and as a program director. During that period, he has reached out to industry leaders and built strong and lasting ties that have benefited our School, our students and our alumni.”

Kuzmicki has been teaching real estate finance and investment at the Schulich School of Business since 1998 and has co-directed the program in Real Estate and Infrastructure since 2000. Recently he was appointed as the program director for Schulich’s new Master of Real Estate and Infrastructure, which will launch in January 2017. For five year, he also lectured in the MSRED program at the Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation, Columbia University.

“Andre took on the difficult task of bridging the three solitudes of academia, industry, and the student experience and distinguished himself as an outstanding academic, student mentor and trusted colleague,” said Professor James McKellar, associate dean, External Relations and director of the Brookfield Centre in Real Estate and Infrastructure at Schulich.

Kuzmicki will receive the award at the Real Estate Excellence Awards Gala to be held in April.