Weekend wrap: Crew, Cox named York athletes of the year

York University Lions thrower Brittany Crew and soccer player Michael Cox were named the female and male athletes of the year, respectively, at the 48th annual Varsity Athletics Banquet on Thursday night.

Crew lions
York University Lions thrower Brittany Crew (right) was named the female athlete of the year

Crew becomes the first female in 31 years to win the award in back-to-back seasons, while Cox becomes the fourth men’s soccer player to win the award and keeps the honour on the men’s soccer team for the second year in a row.

Also receiving major awards at the event were Sheereen Harris from the women’s track and field team and Colm Vance from the men’s soccer team, who took home the Bryce M. Taylor Award and the Outstanding Male Graduate Award respectively, and Ayo Agusto, who was named the recipient of the Charles Saundercook Memorial Trophy. Nikki Carnovale from women’s tennis and Jesse Amankwaa from the Lions football team were named the top rookies of the year, and soccer coach Carmine Isacco received the coach of the year award for the second year in a row. More details on York Lions website.

The awards

Female Athlete of the Year: Brittany Crew, Track & Field

Male Athlete of the Year: Michael Cox, Soccer

Bryce M. Taylor Award: Sheereen Harris, Track and Field

Outstanding Male Graduate Award: Colm Vance, Soccer

 Charles Saundercook Memorial Trophy: Ayo Agusto

Coach of the Year: Carmine Isacco, Soccer

Female Rookie of the Year: Nikki Carnovale, Tennis
 Male Rookie of the Year: Jesse Amankwaa, Football

Lions Legacy Awards: Marty Alaimo, Sheereen Harris, Megan Lee, and Colm Vance

Men’s Basketball, Nathan Culbreath
Women’s Basketball, Ishanaa Seupersadsingh
Men’s Cross Country, Suraj Sharma
Women’s Cross Country, Nina Sieh
Field Hockey, Paige Warner
Football, Hussein Hazime
Men’s Hockey, Mark Cross
Women’s Hockey, Megan Lee
Women’s Rugby, Marty Alaimo
Men’s Soccer, Michael Cox
Women’s Soccer, Nour Ghoneim
Men’s Tennis, Filip Obucina
Women’s Tennis, Nikki Carnovale
Men’s Track and Field, David McKay
Women’s Track and Field, Brittany Crew
Men’s Volleyball, Arthur Szwarc
Women’s Volleyball, Celeste Witzell
Men’s Wrestling, Tyler Tate-Austin
Women’s Wrestling, Alexandria Town

Most Improved Team: Men’s Hockey

Sport Council Award: Sheereen Harris, Women’s Track and Field

Roar Cup: Women’s Hockey

Senior Athletic Therapist of the Year: Nick Halkidis

Spirit Cup Award: Men’s Volleyball Team Bench Players