Strong finish for Osgoode teams at moot competitions

Osgoode Hall Law School photograph of the building interior
Osgoode Hall Law School

Teams from Osgoode Hall Law School showed strong results at recent 2016 moot competitions, including the Bowman National Tax Moot, the Julius Alexander Diversity Moot and the Wilson Moot.

Strong second place finish for Osgoode team in Wilson Moot 2016

wilson mootOsgoode’s team earned a second place overall in this year’s Wilson Moot. Team members were Angelica Buggie, Lillianne Cadieux-Shaw, Jamie Mendelovitch, Vanessa Carroll and Brittany Ross-Fichtner.

The Wilson Moot, named after former Supreme Court Justice and equality rights champion Bertha Wilson, is a national moot court competition devoted to equality law and the Charter of Rights and Freedoms. Established in 1992, it draws teams from approximately 10 law schools across the country. It takes the form of an appeal to a fictitious appellate court of last resort.

The judges are members of the bar and the bench. The final bench is typically comprised of a Supreme Court of Canada judge and two members of the Court of Appeal for Ontario.

The competition is of high calibre, but relaxed. The moot is a great opportunity to meet students from other law schools as well as members of the bar and bench.

Osgoode picks up Best Advocate Award at Bowman National Tax Moot

tax mootThe 2016 Donald G.H. Bowman National Tax Moot took place in Toronto Feb. 26 and 27. Osgoode had two teams in the competition, with the respondent team of Victoria Mitrova and Martin Banach advancing to the semifinals, and Banach won the Best Advocate Award.

The appellant team members were Victoria de Luna and Warren Silver, and Amy Lee was the researcher/alternate.

Both teams were coached by lawyers from KPMG Law – Thang Trieu andJustin Kutyan.

The Donald G. Bowman National Tax Moot is the only Canadian mooting competition devoted to tax law. It is organized annually by a distinguished executive committee, consisting of prominent judges, practitioners, and academics from the field of tax law.

The competition takes the form of an appeal of a tax law problem to a fictitious appellate court of last resort.

Osgoode earns Best Factum at Julius Alexander Diversity Moot

In other mooting news, the 2016 Julius Alexander Diversity Moot took place in mid-February in Toronto and Osgoode’s Bethany McKoy and Hannah Shaikh won Best Factum.

The Black Law Students Association of Canada (BLSA Canada) Julius Alexander Isaac Diversity Moot is designed to promote advocacy and excellence in the fields of diversity law, human rights and equity issues, and to provide participants with the opportunity to interact with jurists of the Ontario, Federal and Supreme Courts and with experienced practitioners in those fields.