Three Lions volleyball players net OUA honours

York Lions Logo

York University men’s volleyball player Josh Henderson was named the Ontario University Athletics (OUA) rookie of the year on Feb. 17, one of three Lions recognized by the conference for their outstanding season.

three Volleyball players honoured by the OUA
Above: From left, Josh Henderson, Ray Szeto and Arthur Swarcz

Also honoured by the OUA was outside hitter Ray Szeto, who was named a first “b-team” all-star and Arthur Swarcz, who was named to the all-rookie team. In addition to Henderson’s major award, he was also named to the all-rookie team and as well as a second team all-star.

Henderson is the first Lion to win the rookie of the year award since Simon Van Bommel took it home in 2000. Henderson made a splash in his first year in the league finishing the season ranked fifth with 239 kills, sixth in kills per set (3.23), fourth in points (291) and sixth in points per set with 3.9. In the Lions quarter-final victory over Queen’s University, the outside hitter led the team with 27.5 points on 22 kills, 4.5 blocks and a service ace.

For the third consecutive season, Szeto has been named a first team all-star. The fifth-year outside hitter finished the season ranked second in the OUA in total points with 313.5 and kills with 271. He was also fourth in kills per set (3.66) fifth in points per set (4.2) and 11th in service aces (18). He was named York’s male athlete of the week once this season.

Swarcz made his impact felt in his first season with the Lions ranking second on the team in total blocks (37), and fourth in kills (80) and points (112). The middle blocker also ranked second among all rookies with 2.5 points per set.

Henderson and Swarcz join three other current members of the Lions to be named to the all-rookie team including Szeto (2010-11), Marko Dakic (2011-12) and Nicolas Pirnat (2013-14).

OUA Major Award Winners

OUA Most Valuable Player: Danny Demyanenko – McMaster University
OUA Rookie of the Year: Josh Henderson – York University
Dale Iwanoczko Award Nominee: Mike Tomlinson – Queen’s University
OUA Libero of the Year: Ivo Dramov – Queen’s University
OUA Coach of the Year: Dave Presenton – McMaster University

OUA First Team All-Stars

Danny Demyanenko – McMaster University
Ray Szeto – York University
Austin Campion Smith – McMaster University
Lukas Coleman – Ryerson University
Mike Tomlinson – Queen’s University
Jordan Dyck – University of Waterloo
Justin Scapinello – Western University

OUA Second Team All-Stars

Marc Wilson – University of Guelph
Brandon Koppers – McMaster University
Josh Henderson – York University
Jori Mantha – McMaster University
Jordan McConkey – University of Waterloo
Zach Doherty – University of Waterloo
Cameron Branch – Nipissing University

OUA All-Rookie Team

Josh Henderson – York University
Andrew Richards – McMaster University
Peter Khodkevych – McMaster University
Jake MacNeil – University of Windsor
Arthur Swarcz – York University
Matt Hooker – Western University
Kendrick Kerr – University of Guelph