Osgoode student Anna Easty named CIS player of the year

Anna Easty, a fifth-year midfielder from the York University Lions, was named Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) player of the year in women’s field hockey, Wednesday night.

The Toronto native, who was also honoured as an all-Canadian for the first time, became only the second member of the Lions to claim the Liz Hoffman Award. Rachel Carpenter was honoured back in 1994.

In her second season with the Lions after transferring from the University of Connecticut (where she played for three years) Easty scored a team-leading three goals in 12 games from her centre midfield position, accounting for a third of York’s offensive production in league play.

AnnaEastyAnna Easty

The Osgoode Hall Law School student and team captain, who was named an Ontario University Athletics (OUA) all-star for the second straight campaign, was the heart and soul of the Lions and was widely recognized as the best all-around player in the conference.

“Anna has been the foundation of our field hockey team for the past two seasons,” said York head coach Zeeshan Minhas. “Her skill and control on the ball make her a threat to opponents and a go-to player for the Lions. Her experience and leadership on and off the field has been vital this season as she led a young team. She is consistent and versatile, and her stick skills rate among the best.”

Defenders Rachel Donohoe of the University of British Columbia (UBC) and Katherine Koughan of University of Prince Edward Island (UPEI) were the other nominees for CIS MVP honours.

Other winners announced at the All-Canadian Awards Banquet held at the Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites in Victoria were Dalhousie defender Samantha Spooner, who captured the Joyce Slipp Award as rookie of the year; UBC’s Miranda Mann, who merited the Gail Wilson Award as outstanding contributor; Queen’s Mary-Anne Reid, who received the Marina van der Merwe Award as coach of the year; and Keely Dunn, who referees in the Canada West conference and was named umpire of the year.

The 2013 Field Hockey Canada – CIS championship gets under way Thursday at the University of Victoria and culminates Sunday at 3pm PT with the gold-medal final. All eight matches from the four-team tournament will be webcast live on CIS-SIC.tv.

CIS Major Awards

Liz Hoffman Award (player of the year): Anna Easty, York University
Joyce Slipp Award (rookie of the year): Samantha Spooner, Dalhousie University
Gail Wilson Award (outstanding contributor): Miranda Mann, UBC
Marina van der Merwe Award(coach of the year): Mary-Anne Reid, Queen’s University
Umpire of the year: Keely Dunn, University Canada West

CIS All-Canadian Team

GK – Kathryn Williams, University of Toronto
D – Rachel Donohoe, UBC
D – Katherine Koughan, UPEI
M/D – Kathleey Leahy, University of Victoria
M – Nikki Burge, Dalhousie University
M – Anna Easty, York University
M – Erin Houle, Guelph University
F – Tegan Stairs, University of Toronto
F – Kate Gillis, UBC
F – Hannah Haughn, UBC
F – Katelynn Roganowicz, Western University