Osgoode Hall Law School honours top alumni

Audrey Loeb Terrence O’Sullivan Malliha Wilson Gerald Chan David Jackson

Osgoode Hall Law School of York University honoured its distinguished alumni with awards for their exceptional contributions to the legal profession and service to the community at the Dean’s Annual Alumni Reception on Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at Osgoode Hall in downtown Toronto.Frank Addario

Dianne Martin Medal for Social Justice through Law

Frank Addario (LLB ‘82), who practises with Addario Law Group, received this year’s Dianne Martin Medal for Social Justice through Law, which is named in honour of a deceased Osgoode professor who was a passionate defender of social justice. Addario successfully led the Criminal Lawyers Association initiative to secure funding for the Ontario Legal Aid Program. Due to his efforts, improvements to the legal aid system will now benefit all legal aid service providers in Ontario. He has also passionately contributed to the future of the criminal defence bar by advocating for the development of mentoring programs for young lawyers.

Alumni Gold Key Awards

Gold Key Award for Achievement

Audrey Loeb (LLB ‘71) is an associate counsel at Miller Thomson in Toronto, with a practice focused on conveyancing and condominium law. In 2008, she was awarded the Law Society Medal for her significant contributions to the legal profession and to the community, and the Ontario Bar Association’s Real Property Section Award of Excellence. She is a former member of the board of directors of Bridgepoint Health and of Princess Margaret Hospital where she founded the Weekend to End Breast Cancer.

Terrence O’Sullivan (LLB ‘71) of Lax O’Sullivan Scott Lisus LLP is a top commercial litigator who is also actively involved in the community. He was awarded the Law Society Medal by the Law Society of Upper Canada in June 2010 for outstanding service to the legal profession. He is currently a member of the board of directors of the Toronto Rehab Hospital Foundation, and served as a distinguished president of The Advocates’ Society. He is also a past president of the Sunnybrook Foundation, where he was a member of the board of directors for eight years, continuing now as a member of the foundation’s governing council and chair of the campaign for the Veterans’ Centre.

Gold Key Award for the Public Sector

Malliha Wilson (LLB ‘81) has been assistant deputy attorney general of Ontario since 2008, and prior to that she was legal director of the Crown Law Office Civil. She works to promote diversity in the Ontario Public Service, encouraging underrepresented groups to article in her division, and promoting understanding across all cultural backgrounds. Wilson started the Aboriginal Law Summer Student Program and championed the introduction of the Internationally Trained Lawyers Program within the Legal Services Division in the Ministry of the Attorney General. She received the Distinguished Career Award from the South Asian Bar Association of Toronto in 2010.

Gold Key Award for One-to-Watch

Gerald Chan (LLB ‘06) was the gold medallist of the Osgoode Hall Law School graduating class of 2006. In only six short years, he has made an outstanding contribution to his field and community. Chan, who is a partner with Ruby Shiller Chan Barristers, practises criminal, constitutional and regulatory litigation. He is also active in legal writing and continuing legal education. He is a member of the Criminal Lawyers’ Association, the Advocates’ Society, PEN Canada and the Federation of Asian Canadian Lawyers. He also sits on the executive committees of the OBA Constitutional, Civil Liberties and Human Rights Section and the Association for Chinese Canadian Lawyers of Ontario.

Gold Key Award for Service

David Jackson (LLB ‘72) has dedicated many years of generous service to Osgoode Hall Law School, volunteering his time and energy. He served on the Alumni Association Board of Directors from 2004 to 2010, and has been a trusted adviser to both the board and to the dean. He was the chair of the Osgoode Hall Law School Fund from 2005 to 2008 and a member of The Building Osgoode Campaign Cabinet, where he was heavily involved in fundraising and volunteer initiatives. A very generous donor himself, the Law School is proud to have a classroom named in his honour. A preeminent lawyer, he has made his career at Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP, where he served as chairman from 1995 to 2001. He is currently Senior Counsel in the Securities Group.

Audrey Loeb Terrence O’Sullivan Malliha Wilson Gerald Chan David JacksonAbove: Osgoode Gold Key recipients, from left, David Jackson, Terrence O’Sullivan, Audrey Loeb, Gerald Chan and Malliha Wilson