Osgoode wins the 2012 Cassels Brock Cup moot

Osgoode's winning team

For the third year running, a team of students from Osgoode Hall Law School has won the Cassels Brock Cup moot competition.

The 20 first-year Osgoode students competed in the annual mooting competition against a rival team from the University of Toronto on Saturday, March 24. The competition is held every year at the Ontario Court of Appeal.

Osgoode's winning team Right: Osgoode’s winning team

It is affectionately known as the “Baby Gale” because the students moot the same case as the annual Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP Gale Cup Moot. This year, students argued R. vs. Sinclair, a leading case from the Supreme Court of Canada on an individual’s right upon arrest or detention to counsel as outlined under s. 10(b) of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

Osgoode was represented by first-year students Phi Nguyen, Anna Konewka, David Bowden, Doug Judson, Max Gennis, Michela Gregory, Krum Dochev, Waleed Malik, Monika Drobnicki, Rachel Kwan, David Selesnick, Jon Ungaro, Emily Uza, Mari Hotta, Tebasum Durrani, Weston Powell, Quinn Harris, Hilary Fender, James Craig and Travis Weagant.

Beyond winning the overall competition, Osgoode students also came away with most of the top honours at the competition. The Top Appellant Team award went to Konewka and Nguyen, the Top Respondent Team award went to Powell and Durrani. The First Place Oralist award went to Durrani, with Konewka taking second place honours.

The team was coached by Osgoode’s Gale Cup team of law students David Spence, Stephanie Marple, Andrew Matthews and Lara Kinkartz.  Several other members of the Osgoode Mooting Society also assisted in coaching the team. The competition is made possible by the support of Cassels Brock LLP.