Winners of the 2010 President’s Staff Recognition Awards named

York President & Vice-Chancellor Mamdouh Shoukri has announced the recipients of the 2010 President’s Staff Recognition Awards.

The President offered congratulations to the recipients and nominees. “One of York’s greatest strengths is the dedication of its staff,” says Shoukri. “The President’s Staff Recognition Awards provides a way to acknowledge their tremendous contributions in helping to make York one of Canada’s leading universities.”

The winners will be honoured, and their achievements celebrated, at an awards dinner scheduled for May 4.

The awards and recipients are as follows:

The Ronald Kent Medal
Sue Sbrizzi
School of Women’s Studies, Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies

Sue SbrizziPresident Emeritus H. Ian Macdonald established this award in 1979 in memory of his driver, Ronald Kent, to acknowledge his commitment to the University throughout his years of service. Mr. Kent was an enthusiastic employee and a true ambassador for York.

A beloved staff member that provides imaginative and creative leadership, Sbrizzi is the engine that keeps the School of Women’s Studies going. She has been part of the school since its inception, ensuring the new unit ran effectively and smoothly. Sbrizzi is known for generously sharing her time and expertise, and shows her dedication by ensuring projects are completed on time, regardless of the hours invested. She has a strong respect for York students, providing useful advice and practical support, even if it affects her own pressing deadlines. She promotes a culture of learning by operating with the view that her team can and will do excellent work. She is there to support them in their growth, and ensures they have the proper guidance and tools to succeed.

Nominees: Jean Levy, Department of History, Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies (LA&PS); Gillian Moore, School of Engineering, Faculty of Science & Engineering; and, Hazel O’Loughlin-Vidal, eServices Office, (LA&PS).

The President’s CPM Award
Janet Morrison
Office of the Dean, Faculty of Health

Janet MorrisonThe CPM award recognizes contributions that go beyond the published requirements of a position, and performance levels that foster a high level of professionalism and usually extend beyond an individual department into the University community at large.

One of the first to join the newly created Faculty of Health in 2006, Janet Morrison is a courageous leader with a reputation of unfailing support for the University. She goes out of her way to mentor those on her team, to lead by example, and is first in line to tackle any situation. Morrison motivates those around her to “think big”, to be creative, and encourages an atmosphere that promotes sharing. Her colleagues note she has a strong sense of community values and citizenship. She is actively involved in various committees on campus, and is currently the chair of the board of the Toronto Children’s Aid Society.

Nominees: Robert Smith, Custodial, Grounds & Facilities Services, Campus Services & Business Operations (CSBO); Fiona Kay, Student Financial Services, Glendon College; and, David Phipps, Office of Research Services, Vice-President Research & Innovation.

The President’s Voice of York Award
Domenica Lam
School of Health Policy & Management, Faculty of Health

Domenica LamThe Voice of York Award is given to an individual employed as a receptionist or who is a first-line-of-contact person at York University. The most important voice of York is the one that callers or visitors hear first. Tact and professionalism, particularly in handling difficult or sensitive situations, is essential to our work at York University.

Domenica Lam has a reputation for quiet efficiency. Her colleagues note that she consistently goes above and beyond her work requirements, and that her skills far surpass those needed for her position. She is patient and efficient; she is able to guide anxious or frustrated students in a sensitive manner that provides them with the resolution they seek. Lam works with faculty, staff and students across the University, and is viewed as the voice of the Critical Disabilities Program. She mentors both faculty and students; both comment on how they leave feeling they have been helped by someone who truly cares. Lam is the most important contact person in her program for helping to address the varied requirements that are part of day-to-day administration.

Nominees: Tina Sposato, Office of the Vice-President Research & Innovation; Nathan Muiruri, York International; Stephanie Trieu, Student Client Services, Admissions, Communications & Client Services; Frances Tee, Department of Visual Arts, Faculty of Fine Arts; Janet Cheng, Reference Department, Scott Library; and, Ivana Wolsegger, Enquiries, Admissions Client Services.

The Phyllis Clark Campus Service Award
Antonio Catricala
Grounds, Fleet & Waste Management, CSBO

Antonio CatricalaThe award was established in honour of Phyllis Clark, former vice-president finance and administration. The award is presented annually to a non-academic employee of York University who has made exemplary contributions to the operations of either of York’s campuses in terms of efficiency, cleanliness, safety, security and/or other campus or plant services.

Antonio Catricala has been part of the York family for the past 30 years. He considers himself lucky to have been part of the York community for so long. His attitude is infectious, and has been noted to improve the morale of staff around him. He consistently delivers the highest standard of service, and inspires those on his team to do the same. Catricala is on call 24/7 during the winter months; his managers note his cheerful demeanour regardless of the time he is called. For the past 15 years, he has been the primary staff person responsible for recycle collection. He willingly worked with management to usher in the new ZeroWaste program. He is dedicated to excellent service, whether he is giving directions to someone lost on campus, or training new staff.

Nominees: Desta Abebe, Custodial Services, CSBO; Ana Pacheco, Undergraduate Housing Operations, CSBO; and, Salvatore Salerno, Glendon Custodial Services, CSBO.

The Deborah Hobson York Citizenship Award
Carolyn Steele
Career Centre, Student Community Development

Carolyn SteeleThe long career of former vice-president enrolment and student services Deborah Hobson is characterized by her energetic commitment and boundless enthusiasm for York University and its particular vision of higher education. This award has been established in her honour.

Carolyn Steele is known to those at the Career Centre as “Superwoman”. She works tirelessly to provide career focused services and support to York students, while continually working on other projects, including her PhD. Known as an innovative thinker, Steele resolved the issue of students’ ability to access information by creating a Career Cyberguide for the Career Centre’s website. Her enthusiasm is infectious, she is generous with her time, and her perseverance inspires those around her. Steele’s reputation as a student and innovation advocate encourages her team to think outside the box, to leverage creativity and technology in order to provide the very best to York students. Regardless of the demand, Steele always manages to find time to give back to the York community.

Nominees: Ross A. McMillan, Student Community & Leadership Development, Vice-President Students; Sue Sbrizzi, School of Women’s Studies, Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies, Louise Malisani, Department of Dance, Faculty of Fine Arts; and, George Grigoriadis, Student Client Services, Admissions, Communications & Client Services.

For more information on each of the awards and past recipients, visit the President’s Staff Recognition Awards website.