Men to battle for some US$3 million in prize money at Rogers Cup

Two years ago on the Rexall Centre courts at York, Spanish player Rafael Nadal took home the Rogers Cup. Last year, Britain’s Andy Murray won the top spot in Montreal. This year, both men are expected at the 2010 Rogers Cup, presented by National Bank, to battle it out for US$3 million in prize money.

Right: Rafael Nadal. Photo courtesy of Tennis Canada.

The 2010 Rogers Cup will run from Aug. 7 to 15. Also slated for this year’s tournament are previous champions Novak Djokovic, who won in 2007; Roger Federer, who took the cup in 2004 and again in 2006; and the 2003 winner, Andy Roddick. Nadal also won in 2005 in Montreal.

Some of the best men’s tennis players in the world have showcased their skills on Canadian courts since 1881, including Andre Agassi, John McEnroe, Ivan Lendl, Boris Becker and Björn Borg, and this year is no exception. A total of 56 players will enter the tournament, the top ranked 45 plus seven qualifiers and four wild cards.

Qualifying rounds will take place Saturday, Aug. 7 and Sunday, Aug. 8. Tickets are available for both qualifying sessions. Opening night will take place on Monday, Aug. 9, with a pyrotechnic show choreographed to music adding to the sparks.

Left: Andy Murray. Photo courtesy of Tennis Canada.

YFile readers are invited to join the action with savings of up to 20 per cent off ticket prices. Friends and family of YFile readers are also eligible for the discount.

Click here for a schedule detailing the cost of discounted tickets.

To order, visit the Rogers Cup Web site and use your group access code (1078-11984166). You can also call Tennis Canada at 1-877-283-6647 ext. 4306 or e-mail