The University honours its long-serving faculty

Long-service faculty members were honoured on March 1 with a special reception in the Marshall A. Cohen Governance Room in the York Research Tower. 

The event provided an opportunity for the University to celebrate the dedication and contributions made by its 25-year and 40-year long-service faculty members. The reception was hosted by the Office of the President. York Vice-President Academic & Provost Patrick Monahan welcomed the honourees and presented each of them with a gift on behalf of President & Vice-Chancellor Mamdouh Shoukri.

The long-serving faculty who received the 25 Years Service Award were:

  • James Bebko, professor, Department of Psychology, Faculty of Health
  • Richard Bello, professor, Department of Geography, Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies (LA&PS)
  • Philippe Bourdin, professor, Research Group in Francophone Studies, Department of French Studies, Glendon College
  • Len Early, professor, Department of English, LA&PS
  • Meg Luxton, professor, School of Women’s Studies, LA&PS
  • Hélène Massam, professor, Department of Mathematics & Statistics, Faculty of Science & Engineering
  • Merv Mosher, senior lecturer, School of Kinesiology & Health Science, Faculty of Health
  • Norio Ota, associate lecturer, Department of Languages, Literatures & Linguistics, LA&PS
  • Ron Owston, professor, Faculty of Education; director, Institute for Research on Learning Technologies; co-director, York/Seneca Technology Enhanced Learning Institute
  • Leo Panitch, Distinguished Research Professor and Canada Research Chair in Comparative Political Economy, Department of Political Science, LA&PS
  • David Scadding, professor, Department of Design, Faculty of Fine Arts
  • Ian Smith, professor and director of linguistics, Department of Languages, Literatures & Linguistics, LA&PS
  • John Smithin, professor, Department of Economics, LA&PS and the Schulich School of Business
  • Malcolm Thurlby, professor, Department of Visual Arts, Faculty of Fine Arts
  • Penelope Van Esterik, professor, Department of Anthropology, LA&PS
  • Livy Visano, professor, Department of Social Sciences, LA&PS,
  • Patricia Wait, professor, Department of Music, Faculty of Fine Arts
  • Asia Ivic Weiss, associate dean, Faculty of Graduate Studies, and professor, Department of Mathematics & Statistics, Faculty of Science & Engineering

Above: Front row, from left, Len Early, Norio Ota, Hélène Massam, Livy Visano, John Smithin, Asia Ivic Weiss. Back row, from left, Meg Luxton, Ron Owston, Ian Smith, Philippe Bourdin, James Bebko, Patricia Wait, Merv Mosher, Malcolm Thurlby, Leo Panitch, David Scadding, Patrick Monahan, Richard Bello and Penelope Van Esterik.

The long-serving faculty who received the 40 Years Service Award were:

  • Diethard Bohme, Distinguished Research Professor, Centre for Research in Mass Spectrometry, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science & Engineering
  • Thomas Cohen, professor, Department of History and Department of Humanities, LA&PS
  • Christopher Innes, Distinguished Research Professor, Department of English, LA&PS
  • Edward Lee-Ruff, professor, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science & Engineering
  • Richard Weisman, professor, Department of Social Science, LA&PS, and Department of Sociology, Glendon College; and director, Socio-Legal Studies Program, Faculty of Graduate Studies

Above: From left, Thomas Cohen, Patrick Monahan, Richard Weisman, Diethard Bohme, Christopher Innes and Edward Lee-Ruff

To view a video clip of Patrick Monahan’s introduction and two of the speakers, click here.