Winners of the 2008 President’s Staff Recognition Awards named

York President & Vice-Chancellor Mamdouh Shoukri has announced the recipients of the 2008 President’s Staff Recognition Awards. 

The president offered congratulations to the recipients and nominees. 

Right: Mamdouh Shoukri

“The President’s Staff Recognition Awards are a way to acknowledge and thank York’s staff for their tremendous contributions to the University,” says Shoukri. “York has come a long way in 50 years, thanks in part to the hard work and dedication of our staff. Just think of how far we can go in the next 50 years by working together.”

The winners will be honoured, and their achievements celebrated, at an upcoming dinner and awards event.

The awards and recipients are as follows:

The Ronald Kent Medal

Paulette Burgher, administrative secretary to the chair, Division of Social Science, Faculty of Arts

President Emeritus H. Ian Macdonald established this award in 1979 in memory of his driver, Ronald Kent, to acknowledge his commitment to the University throughout his years of service.  Mr. Kent was an enthusiastic employee and a true ambassador for York.  

The President’s CPM Award

Jane Crescenzi, executive officer, Office of the Dean, Faculty of Education

The CPM award recognizes contributions that go beyond the published requirements of a position, and performance levels that foster a high level of professionalism and usually extend beyond an individual department into the University community at large.

The President’s Voice of York Award

Regina Pinto, administrative assistant, School of Health Policy & Management, Faculty of Health

The Voice of York Award is given to an individual employed as a receptionist or who is a first-line-of-contact person at York University. The most important voice of York is the one that callers or visitors hear first. Tact and professionalism, particularly in handling difficult or sensitive situations, is essential to our work at York University.

The Phyllis Clark Campus Service Award

Raul Dionisio, operator team leader, Grounds, Fleet and Waste Management, Campus Services & Business Operations

The award was established in honour of Phyllis Clark, former vice-president finance and administration. The award is presented annually to a non-academic employee of York University who has made exemplary contributions to the operations of either of York’s campuses in terms of efficiency, cleanliness, safety, security and/or other campus or plant services.

The Deborah Hobson York Citizenship Award

Debbie Kee, director, Housing Services, Campus Services & Business Operations

The long career of former vice-president enrolment and student services Deborah Hobson is characterized by her energetic commitment and boundless enthusiasm for York University and its particular vision of higher education. This award has been established in her honour.

For more information on each of the awards and past recipients, visit the President’s Staff Recognition Awards Web site.