Two professors posted to the Office of the Dean at Osgoode Hall Law School

Osgoode Hall Law School Dean Patrick Monahan has announced the appointments of Professor Lisa Philipps as the next associate dean, research, graduate studies & institutional relations, and Professor Bruce Ryder as the next assistant dean, first year, effective July 1.

Philipps is a leading scholar in the tax field, having published numerous articles and book chapters over the last number of years, and receiving significant research grants from the Social Sciences & Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC). She participates actively in public policy debates in the tax field. She is also a senior and experienced administrator in Osgoode Hall Law School, having chaired Osgoode Faculty Council as well as having served as assistant dean of first-year students. Ryder has been a faculty member at Osgoode Hall Law School for more than 20 years and is one of Canada’s leading constitutional law scholars. He also received one of the law school’s teaching awards in 2005.

Philipps will succeed Associate Dean Peer Zumbansen, whom Monahan acknowledged for "his tremendous leadership to the faculty in the development of a strategic vision for research at Osgoode." Monahan also thanked Professor Sonia Lawrence, assistant dean, first year, for the past four years, for "working tirelessly to ensure that first-year students have the best possible introduction to Osgoode."