2008 York University Sport Hall of Fame inductees announced

The 2008 inductees to the York University Sport Hall of Fame include five former interuniversity athletes, who will be inducted during the dinner and ceremony on Thursday, May 29. The announcement was made by the School of Kinesiology & Health Science, in York’s Faculty of Health.

Created in 1980, the Sport Hall of Fame honours individuals who have significantly contributed to York’s interuniversity sport program as athletes, coaches and administrators; and who have exemplified the spirit and ideals of York University sports in their professional and community life. Each year, the selection committee consists of varsity alumni, current student-athletes, and several university administrators, including the director of York Sport & Recreation

The 2008 inductees include:

Brian MacDonald is second on the school’s career leading list in men’s hockey with 184 points. During his time with the squad from 1987 to 1991, York won two national titles (1987-1988 and 1988-1989) and one provincial title (1987-1988). In his final year with the team (1990-1991), MacDonald was named an all-Canadian and was the Ontario nominee for the Randy Gregg Award, which is awarded to an outstanding student-athlete. MacDonald was named York’s male athlete of the year in 1990-1991 and also received the most gentlemanly player award from the Ontario Universities Athletic Association (OUAA) that season.

Frank Nutzenberger helped a powerful York gymnastics team win five national championships while he was at the University from 1979 to 1984. During his tenure, Nutzenberger won seven individual gold medals at the nationals, including three in his rookie year of 1979-1980. York also won five provincial titles with Nutzenberger, who captured five individual gold medals at the OUAA level.

Kim Holden led the York women’s basketball team to a provincial title in 1982. Holden was a five-time Ontario all-star (1980-1984) and the captain of the team from 1982 to 1984. A provincial team member before she came to the University, Holden was one of the team’s most dangerous outside shooters and an excellent all-around athlete. During her time at York, she received an invitation to the national team training camp.

John May played for the York men’s volleyball team from 1978 to 1982 and led the squad to three consecutive appearances at the Canadian Interuniversity Sport national championship tournament. York advanced to the nationals those years (1980-1982) after winning three provincial championships in a row. In all three of those years, May was named an Ontario all-star. York finished fourth in the country in men’s volleyball in 1980 and 1982.

Gillian (Sewell) McCullough capped her outstanding field hockey career at York by winning the Gail Wilson Award as the top player in Canada in 1996. York advanced to the national championship in all five of McCullough’s seasons (1991-1996) with the squad. The five-year run included a national silver medal in 1994 and a bronze medal in 1996. McCullough’s York team also won three provincial championships. A three-time Ontario all-star, McCullough helped the team in fundraising efforts after her playing career had come to an end.

The Hall of Fame Dinner and Induction Ceremony takes place at the Montecassino Banquet Hall in Woodbridge. Tickets are $75 per person or $600 per table (eight seats) and are available at the Sport York Office, 302 Tait McKenzie Centre.

For more information, call the Sport York Office at 416-736-5183.