York grads win nine seats in Ontario election

Nine York alumni, out of 32 candidates with connections to the University, won seats in Ontario’s 39th general election on Oct. 10.

Not suprisingly, with a second majority win by the Ontario Liberals, six of the nine were members of Premier Dalton McGuinty’s team, led by Finance Minister Greg Sorbara, who won with 61.9 per cent of the votes in his Vaughan riding. Other successful York Grits include Greg SorbaraWayne Arthurs (Pickering-Scarborough East), Margarett Best (Scarborough-Guildwood), Attorney General Michael Bryant (St. Paul’s), Aileen Carroll (Barrie) and Helen Jaczek (Oak Ridges-Markham).

Left: Greg Sorbara

Osgoode alumnus John Tory, the Progressive Conservative leader, lost his bid but fellow Osgoode alum and PC candidate Gerry Martiniuk won his riding of Cambridge. The other successful York graduates were long-time New Democratic Party MPP Peter Kormos in Welland and fellow NDPer Cheri DiNovo in Parkdale-High Park.

All four current York students who ran finished third, including Andy Arifin (Markham-Unionville), Shane O’Toole (York West), Mani Singh (Brampton-Springdale) and Shona Bracken (Toronto Danforth). Graduate student and alumna Janice Hagan (Oak Ridges-Markham) also finished third. York Professor Gail McCabe, who ran for the NDP in Mississauga-Streetsville, came third as well.

Among the York contingent running for the Green Party, all but one finished fourth in their area. The one exception was Jim Reeve in York Simcoe, who came third.

Below are the unofficial results for York-connected candidates. For up-to-the-minute results, visit the Elections Ontario Web site.

How they did: York candidates in the 2007 provincial election
Unofficial results from Elections Ontario

  Name Party Riding/ Result/ Vote share Deg/Yr Faculty
Shona Bracken COM Toronto Danforth
6th – 0.7%
Jim Reeves GRN York Simcoe
3rd – 11.3%
MBA ’70 Schulich School of Business
Jerry Schulman GRN Etobicoke Lakeshore
4th -7.9%
BFA ’84 Faculty of Fine Arts
Gregory Laxton GRN Ottawa Centre
4th – 12.3%
MA ’04 Faculty of Arts
Steve D’sa GRN St. Paul’s
4th – 8.3%
BSc ’94 Faculty of Science & Engineering
Patrick Kraemer GRN Toronto Danforth
4th – 11.1%
LLB ’05 Osgoode Hall Law School
Jessica Fracassi GRN Essex
4th – 5.3%
BES ’01 Faculty of Environmental Studies
Wayne Arthurs LIB Pickering-Scarborough East
1st – 48.6%
BA ’72 Faculty of Arts
Margarett Best LIB Scarborough-Guildwood
1st – 42.5%
LLB ’95 Osgoode Hall Law School
Michael Bryant LIB St. Paul’s
1st – 47.5%
LLB ’92 Osgoode Hall Law School
Aileen Carroll LIB Barrie
1st – 42.2%
BEd ’89 Faculty of Education
Laura Hammer LIB Whitby-Oshawa
2nd – 36.0%
BA ’96 Atkinson Faculty of Liberal & Professional Studies
Helena Jaczek LIB Oak Ridges-Markham
1st – 47.9%
MBA ’94 Schulich School of Business
Mario Racco LIB Thornhill
2nd – 42.3%
BA ’81 Atkinson Faculty of Liberal & Professional Studies
Gregory Sorbara LIB Vaughan
1st – 61.9%
BA ’78, LLB ’81 Glendon, Osgoode
Sylvia Watson LIB Parkdale-High Park
2nd – 29.3%
BA ’76, LLB ’79 Atkinson Faculty of Liberal & Professional Studies, Osgoode Hall Law School
Cheri DiNovo NDP Parkdale-High Park
1st – 44.6%
BA ’94 Faculty of Arts
Janice Hagan NDP Oak Ridges-Marakham
3rd – 8.1%
BA ’86 Faculty of Arts
Peter Kormos NDP Welland
1st – 53.9%
BA ’75, LLB ’78 Faculty of Arts
Andrea Németh NDP Etobicoke-Lakeshore
3rd – 13.6%
BA ’94, MA ’98 Faculty of Arts
Felicite Stairs NDP Renfrew-Nippissin-Pembroke
3rd – 7.6%
LLB ’89 Osgoode Hall Law School
Rick Morelli NDP Vaughan
3rd – 11.6%
BA ’89 Faculty of Arts
Gail McCabe NDP Mississauga-Streetsville
3rd – 10.4%
BA ’96, MA ’98, PhD ’05 Professor, Glendon, Academic Adviser Calumet
Mani Singh NDP Brampton-Springdale
3rd – 10.9%
Andy Arifin NDP Markham-Unionville
3rd – 7.3%
Chris Corrigan PC Ancaster-Dundas-Flamborough-Westdale
2nd – 34.8%
Former lecturer at Glendon  
Gary Crawford PC Scarborough Southwest
2nd – 25.5%
BFA ’83 Faculty of Fine Arts
Gerry Martiniuk PC Cambridge
1st – 41.7%
LLB ’62 Osgoode Hall Law School
Carman McLelland PC Brampton-Springdale
2nd – 30.8%
MBA ’73 Schulich School of Business
Shane O’Toole PC York West
3rd – 10.3%
John Tory PC Don Valley West
2nd – 39.7%
LLB ’78 Osgoode Hall Law School
Mohamed Kassim PC Etobicoke North
2nd – 21.0%
MA ’97 Faculty of Arts

COM – Communist Party of Canada; GRN – Green Party of Ontario; LIB – Ontario Liberal Party; NDP – Ontario New Democratic Party; PC – Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario