Five employees recognized for their contributions to York

Five York employees were honoured at a special dinner presentation on April 18. They were the recipients of the 2006 President’s Staff Recognition Awards. The awards were presented by York President & Vice-Chancellor Lorna R. Marsden, as proud family and colleagues looked on.

Above: Five York employees were honoured for their contributions to York University. They include Michele Young (left), John Hansen, Mary Stearns, Celeta Irvin and Rabia Sallie. York President & Vice Chancellor Lorna R. Marsden (far right) presented the awards to the employees on April 18.

Michele Young, executive officer, Office of the Dean, Faculty of Graduate Studies, has worked at York for over 30 years. Young received the Confidential and Professional Management (CPM) Award. The award honours an individual who has contributed more than required of her position and performed at a high level of professionalism.

John Hansen, locksmith, Campus Services & Business Operations, is the recipient of the Phyllis Clark Campus Service Award. Hansen joined York in 1976. The award is presented to a non-academic employee who has made exemplary contributions to the efficient, clean, safe and secure operations of campus or plant services.

Mary Stearns, administrative assistant, Student Financial Services, received the President’s Voice of York Award. The award goes to a receptionist or first-line-of-contact person known for the quality of response to first-time callers or visitors to York. Stearns joined York in 1998.

Celeta Irvin, undergraduate assistant, Women’s Studies Bridging Program & School of Women’s Studies, received the Deborah Hobson York Citizenship Award. Irvin has worked at York from 1989 and specifically in the bridging program since 1999. The Deborah Hobson York Citizenship Award is presented to an individual who embodies the York spirit and promotes it in terms of imagination, creativity, innovation and redefining the possible in service to the University community.

Rabia Sallie, administrative assistant, Department of Philosophy, Faculty of Arts, won the Ronald Kent Award for personal commitment and dedicated service to the University. Sallie has worked at York for the past 35 years and for the last 10 of these years has been the administrative assistant in the Department of Philosophy.