Faculty of Arts celebrates research highlights of 2006

On March 8, the Faculty of Arts celebrated its 2006 research successes – four professors won fellowships, five won research-related awards, and dozens more published books and articles.

"The Faculty of Arts includes an enormous range of disciplines, from earth science to social science to literary studies, and there is cutting edge scholarship happening in all areas," said Heather Campbell, associate dean of research & faculty relations, in her welcoming remarks to professors gathered in York’s Senate chambers for the event. "It’s very exciting."

Right: Ananya Mukherjee-Reed and Robert Myers

At the celebration, two Faculty of Arts Fellowship recipients gave presentations. Political scientist Ananya Mukherjee-Reed, one of four 2006 fellowship recipients, talked about the "Business of Development: Problematizing the Questions of Justice and Agency", and philosophy Prof. Robert Myers (2005) about the "Objectivity of Desire".

Arts fellowships provide an opportunity to complete a significant research project over the course of one year.

The event highlighted research-related awards won by the following faculty members in 2006:

  • Kate McPherson (School of Women’s Studies) won the Marion Dewar Prize in Canadian Women’s History presented by the National Capital Committee on the Scholarship, Preservation and Dissemination of Women’s History. This award recognizes contributions to women’s history in Canada. (See YFile story Aug. 9, 2006)
  • Tom Klassen (Department of Political Science) won the 2006 Editor’s Award from the Canadian Association of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists for the best article published in 2005 in the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology. The winning article, co-written by Robert M. Kroll, was "Opinions on stuttering and its treatment: A follow-up survey and cross-cultural comparison."
  • Marc Stein (Department of History) won the 2006 Audre Lorde Prize for best article on lesbian/gay history, from the Committee on Lesbian and Gay History, an affiliated society of the American Historical Association. His winning article was "Boutilier and the US Supreme Court’s Sexual Revolution", published in 2005 in the Law and History Review.
  • Pastor Valle-Garay (Department of Languages, Literatures & Linguistics) won an award in International Education and Communications, presented by the Association of Hispanic Canadian Professors. (See YFile story March 2, 2007)
  • Glen Norcliffe (Department of Geography) received a doctor of science degree from the University of Bristol, UK for sustained research, publications of distinction and a stellar international reputation. (See YFile story Sept. 15, 2006)

On display at the celebration were more than 35 books published by Faculty of Arts professors, only a portion of the more than 50 books and 200 journal articles published in 2006.

Left: Arts profs chat near table displaying their 2006 publications  

Story and photos submitted by Jessica Lamoglie, communications coordinator, Faculty of Arts.