Two law profs win national awards

Two Osgoode professors will receive awards from the Canadian Association of Law Teachers (CALT) at its May 30 conference in Saskatoon.

Jinyan Li (left) will receive the Award for Academic Excellence, which honours exceptional contribution to research and law teaching by a Canadian law teacher in mid-career. She is the third Osgoode professor to win the award. The others were Neil Brooks in 2002 and Mary Jane Mossman in 2004. 

In addition, Osgoode’s James Stribopoulos (right) (LLB ’94, BA ’95) and University of Alberta Professor Moin Yahya will share CALT’s Scholarly Paper Award for substantial contribution to legal literature for their paper, "Does a Judge’s Party of Appointment or Gender Matter to Case Outcomes? An Empirical Study of the Court of Appeal for Ontario." This is the first time an Osgoode professor has been selected for the Scholarly Paper Award.

The academic excellence award winner is selected by a three-person committee based on quality of teaching; creation of new courses; and research in relation to law reform or other legal matters.

Li has been teaching and researching taxation law at Osgoode since 1999. A recognized scholar of two national tax systems – Canada and China – she has taught an array of courses on taxation and pensions and developed several new courses and seminars. She has developed international exchanges with Chinese educational institutions and, in 2004, she was the first recipient of the Osgoode Hall Law School Teaching Award.

The scholarly paper competition is open to scholars who have been on a law faculty for fewer than seven years. Papers are chosen for substantial contribution to legal literature. Stribopoulos, who teaches evidence and criminal procedure, joined Osgoode’s faculty in July 2006. His award-winning research paper looks at reported judgments of the Ontario Court of Appeal from 1990 to 2003.