Winners of the 2006 President’s Staff Recognition Awards named

President and Vice-Chancellor Lorna R. Marsden has announced the recipients of the 2006 President’s Staff Recognition Awards. The winners will be honoured, and their achievements celebrated, at an upcoming event.

Right: Lorna R. Marsden

The president offered congratulations to the recipients and to all of the nominees. The awards and recipients are as follows:

The Ronald Kent Medal

Rabia Sallie, administrative assistant, Department of Philosophy, Faculty of Arts

President Emeritus H. Ian Macdonald established this award in 1979 in memory of Ronald Kent to acknowledge his unique personal commitment to the University throughout his dedicated years of service at York. Mr. Kent exemplified the sincere and enthusiastic colleague who promoted and cultivated these qualities in others across departments, and in his external contacts he was a true ambassador for York.  

The President’s CPM Award

Michele Young, executive officer, Office of the Dean, Faculty of Graduate Studies

The CPM award recognizes contributions which go beyond fulfilling the published requirements of a position, and performance levels which foster a high level of professionalism and usually extend beyond an individual department into the University community at-large.

The President’s Voice of York Award

Mary Stearns, administrative assistant, Student Financial Services

The Voice of York Award is given to an individual who is employed as a receptionist or is a first-line-of-contact person at York University. The most important voice of York is the one who answers the telephone first or greets the visitor first. The quality of responsiveness in the most difficult or sensitive situations is essential to our work at York University.

The Phyllis Clark Campus Service Award

John Hansen, locksmith, Facilities Services

The award has been established in honour of Phyllis Clark, former vice-president finance & administration. The award is presented annually to a non-academic employee of York University who has made exemplary contributions to the operations of either of York’s campuses in terms of efficiency, cleanliness, safety, security and/or other campus or plant services.

The Deborah Hobson York Citizenship Award

Celeta Irvin, undergraduate assistant, Women’s Studies Bridging Program & School of Women’s Studies

The long career of former vice-president enrolment & student services Deborah Hobson is characterized by her energetic commitment and boundless enthusiasm for York University and its particular vision of higher education. The Deborah Hobson York Citizenship Award has been established in her honour.