School presents faculty awards for research and service

Four professors recently won three new academic awards created by York’s School of Administrative Studies (SAS), in the Atkinson Faculty of Liberal & Professional Studies, to recognize research and service by its full-time faculty.

Theory-Practice Award

Richard Leblanc (right), a professor of corporate governance, law and ethics, is the first recipient of the school’s Theory-Practice Award. The award recognizes contributions of SAS faculty to bridge management theory and practice. Leblanc is receiving it for his book, Inside the Boardroom: How Boards Really Work and the Coming Revolution in Corporate Governance, written with James Gillies, professor emeritus at York’s Schulich School of Business.

Inside the Boardroom is a groundbreaking study of corporate governance and director behaviour. Published last year, the book caused a stir in the business community and received a lot of media attention. Leblanc was subsequently listed in The Globe & Mail as one of Canada’s Top 40 Under 40.

An honourable mention in this category went to finance Prof. Chris Robinson (right) for his article “Regulation of Payday Lending in Canada”.

The selection committee for the Theory-Practice Award consisted of a Globe and Mail columnist, a corporate executive and alumnus of the school, a consultant, and a business professor at another university.

Interdisciplinary Research Award

Management Prof. Sabrina Deutsch-Salamon (left) is the first recipient of the school’s Interdisciplinary Research Award, which recognizes scholarly work that demonstrates a willingness to integrate different disciplines in a novel way. She received the award based on her article “OCB as a Handicap: An Evolutionary Psychological Perspective”, published in the Journal of Organizational Behavior in February. Her research interests include organizational trust, citizenship and deviant behaviors, and group dynamics.



Research-Service Award

Peggy Ng (right)professor of management science and applied statistics, and SAS director and professor of accounting John Parkinson (left) shared the first Research-Service Award. The award acknowledges the contributions of faculty members who provide their time, resources and expertise to help colleagues with research papers and grant proposals.