Faculty of Arts celebrates academic excellence

The following article was submitted by Jen Sipos, manager of communications & public relations in the Faculty of Arts.

York’s Faculty of Arts recently honoured more than 180 students who distinguished themselves academically in 2003-2004. Students, faculty and staff attended the celebration on Nov. 17, hosted by Dean Robert Drummond and Associate Dean, Student Relations Marilyn Lambert-Drache. President and Vice-Chancellor Lorna R. Marsden offered congratulations to all and expressed pride in the students’ accomplishments. Daniel Coles, president of the McLaughlin Student Council, also addressed the honourees and praised their remarkable achievements.

excellence 1Right: From left, Lorna R. Marsden, Marilyn Lambert-Drache, Aarin Beder, Jessica Chan, Aislinn Neal Smith and Robert Drummond

Five students, each with the highest sessional grade point average in their year of study, received the Dean’s Award for Academic Excellence. This year’s recipients were: Jessica Chan (1st year, Psychology), Ilil Naveh (2nd year, Psychology), Aislinn Neal Smith (2nd year, Religious Studies and English), Jacob Roth (3rd year, Economics) and Aarin Beder (4th year, Psychology). Each student achieved an average of 9.0 (A+) while completing 30 credits.

excellence-3Left: 2004 essay prize winners

The Faculty Essay Prize is awarded annually to the best essay written at each level of study. Essays are nominated by course directors and selected by a faculty jury. The winning essays are then published by the Office of the Dean. The 2004 prize recipients are:

1st year: Ali Abrar, “Hot Air in the Desert, The McMahon-Hussein Correspondence”;
Honorable mention: Nancy-Anne Davies, “A Curious Tale of Two Florentines in Utopia”.

2nd year: Jennifer Hann, “The Theatre Must Grow Up, The Life and Death of the Federal Theatre Project”.

3rd year: Kathryn Grimbly-Bethke, “The Doubled Life of Sophie Caco in Breath, Eyes, Memory”;
Honorable mention: Jennifer Graesser, “Effect of Gender on Risk Assessment”.

4th year: Michael Garfinkle (Honours Thesis in psychology), “Sigmund Freud, Translation and the New Penguin Edition”;
Honorable mention: Sarah Trimble, “It Must be by his Death: Abjection and Sacrifice in Shakespeare’s Julius Caesar and Coriolanus”.

excellence-3Left: Gwyn Buck, left, and Elizabeth Saati

Other honours included the Faculty of Arts Student Council Dedication Award, presented to Junaid Alam in recognition of his leadership, participation and dedication to the Faculty of Arts Student Council. In addition, the council presented Elizabeth Saati with its Service Excellence Award for significant contribution to the work of the council. Gwyn Buck, executive assistant to the dean, faculty council & policy, was presented with the council’s Outstanding Service Award for her assistance, advice, ongoing support and direction.

More than 180 Faculty of Arts students who achieved a GPA of 8.0 or higher while completing 30 credits or more received congratulations and a certificate at the event.