Two Osgoode Hall professors recognized for excellence

Osgoode Hall Law School Professors Mary Jane Mossman and Stepan Wood have received prestigious research awards.

Mossman, who has taught at Osgoode since 1977 in the areas of property law, family law, gender equality and feminist legal theory, has been awarded the Walter L. Gordon Research Fellowship.

Left: Mary Jane Mossman

Stepan Wood, who graduated as the Gold Medalist from Osgoode in 1992 and later joined the faculty teaching courses in environmental law, property law and in the International, Comparative and Transnational Law Program, has been chosen as the Law Commission of Canada’s Virtual Scholar in Residence.

Right: Stepan Wood

The Walter L. Gordon Research Fellowship, which is named in honour of former York Chancellor, the late Honourable Walter L. Gordon, is awarded four times in six years to a distinguished scholar at York in recognition of outstanding research. The fellowship allows for a year’s leave of absence at full salary and benefits, plus a research stipend, so that a scholar can complete works or projects requiring a period of intensive effort, free of teaching and other university responsibilities.

The Virtual Scholar in Residence Program engages individuals to work for eight months with the Law Commission of Canada to advance research in one of its four research themes. The theme for 2004 is “Governance Relationships.” Within this, the two specific topics are “Governance Beyond Borders” and “Indigenous Legal Traditions.” The Law Commission of Canada provides independent advice on legal policy and law reform issues to the federal government and Parliament.