Atkinson awards ceremony celebrates students


On stage: (left to right) College Master Diana Cooper-Clark, Associate Dean Michael Michie, Dean Rhonda Lenton, Mary Scheepers, director of Student Financial Services, Associate Deans Martha Rogers and Joanne Magee, and York President Emeritus Ian H. Macdonald. Drum circle: Mark, Matthew and Tyler Lavallee.

Faculty, students and guests were treated to a sacred Ojibway drum song during the annual Atkinson Faculty of Liberal & Professional Studies award ceremony held on Nov. 21. The ceremony honoured 308 entrance award recipients and was held at the Underground Restaurant in the York Student Centre.

Over 400 people attended the event that was sponsored by the Atkinson Students’ Association, the Office of the Master with support from the Office of the Dean at Atkinson. A number of scholarships and awards were handed out including the Provost and York Science awards and the Atkinson and York University Entrance Scholarships.

Mark, Matthew and Tyler Lavallee, three Ojibway members of the Chippewa Travellers drum group, performed the ceremonial song.