PM recognizes outstanding York alumna

Left: Jennifer Beauregard, York alumna

Anderson Coward, Faculty of Education communications coordinator, sent the following story to YFile.

York Faculty of Education alumna Jennifer Beauregard was recently recognized as one of this year’s recipients of the Prime Minister’s Awards for Teaching Excellence.

The award is in recognition of Beauregard’s use of art, music and teams of learners to create lessons that stir students’ interest and help them excel in later grades.

The Dorset Drive Public School French immersion teacher is among 72 teachers from across the nation to be recognized by Prime Minister Jean Chrétien.

Beauregard, who teaches Grade 2 French Immersion and Grade 5 French classes, was nominated for the award by Principal Kathy Filkin and the school’s parent council. The selection committee members were looking for innovation, commitment, leadership and exemplary teaching practices that inspire students and help them succeed.

“It’s a very nice gesture at any point to be recognized for what you do,” said Beauregard. The nomination and award are a form of public validation rarely given to teachers, she added.

As an educator who teaches in a second language, Beauregard finds that drawings and music help students to understand the lessons. Her daily lesson plans usually come with illustrations or musical accompaniment. She also mentors other teachers and shares her skills with the community through presentations at parent workshops and professional development centres.

In 2001, Beauregard was also awarded a York Faculty of Education alumni teaching award.

This is the 10th year the Prime Minister’s Awards for Teaching Excellence have been presented to outstanding teachers from all over Canada. Hundreds of nominations were received from across the country. Teachers are eligible for two awards, the national Certificate of Excellence and the local Certificate of Achievement.

Recipients are awarded a certificate and pin, along with a letter from the prime minister. Recipients’ schools receive cash awards to be used for educational purposes. National award winners get $5,000 and local winners receive $1,000. There were 16 national winners and 56 local award recipients.