Staff recognized for exemplary service

(Left: York President and Vice-Chancellor Lorna R. Marsden)

The Office of the President has announced recipients of the 2002 President”s Staff Recognition Awards. The awards, bestowed annually, turn the spotlight on the often unsung staff at York who go beyond the call of duty in their jobs. Congratulations to all the recipients and those nominated.

The awards and recipients are as follows:

The Deborah Hobson Citizenship Award: Marion Perry

The inaugural Deborah Hobson Citizenship Award recipient is Marion Perry, director of student programs, Faculty of Education.

The long career of former vice-president enrolment & student services Deborah Hobson is characterized by her energetic commitment and boundless enthusiasm for York University and its particular vision of higher education. The Deborah Hobson  Citizenship Award has been established in her honour.

The Phyllis Clark Campus Service Award: Orante Del Monte

The inaugural Phyllis Clark Campus Service Award recipient is Orante Del Monte, Department of Caretaking, Division of Facilities, Planning and Construction.

The award has been established in honour of former vice-president finance & administration Phyllis Clark. The award will be presented annually to a non-academic employee of York University who has made exemplary contributions to the operations of either of York’s campuses in terms of efficiency, cleanliness, safety, security and/or other campus or plant services.

The President”s CPM Award: Graham Wise

The President”s CPM Award recipient is Graham Wise, head coach, Yeomen Hockey and assistant coordinator, Interuniversity Sport, School of Kinesiology and Health Science.

The CPM award recognizes contributions which go beyond fulfilling the published requirements of a position and performance levels which foster a high level of professionalism and usually extend beyond an individual department into the University community at-large.

The Ronald Kent Medal: Marlene Caplan

The Ronald Kent Medal recipient is Marlene Caplan, administrative assistant, Departments of Engineering and Physics & Astronomy, Faculty of Pure & Applied Science.

President Emeritus H. Ian Macdonald established this award in 1979 in memory of Ronald Kent to acknowledge his unique personal commitment to the University throughout his dedicated years of service. Kent exemplified the sincere and enthusiastic colleague who promoted and cultivated these qualities in others across departments, and in his external contacts he was a true ambassador for York.

The President”s Voice of York Award: Marion Stasiuk

The Voice of York Award recipient is Marion Stasiuk, administrative secretary, Office of the Dean, Faculty of Pure & Applied Science.

The Voice of York Award is given to an individual who is employed as a receptionist or is a first-line-of-contact person at York University. The most important voice of York is the one who answers the telephone first or greets the visitor first. The quality of responsiveness in the most difficult or sensitive situations is essential to our work at York University.