York celebrates research excellence

On Feb. 21 the Office of the President and the Office of the VP Research & Innovation held a celebratory luncheon to recognize the research excellence that exists within the University, and to honour the York Canada Research Chairs, distinguished research professors and Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada (RSC).

President and Vice-Chancellor Lorna R. Marsden and VP Research & Innovation Stan Shapson congratulated the researchers for their outstanding research achievements and their important contribution toward enhancing York’s reputation as a research university.

Shapson mentioned last year’s launch of the Canadian government’s Innovation Strategy and the opportunity it presented for York to take a leadership role in shaping the government’s vision of research. He said the recent federal budget would enable the University to implement many of its research recommendations.

The four York Fellows of the RSC appointed within the last year are: James Carley, Department of English, Faculty of Arts; Michiel Horn, Department of History, Glendon College; Stanislav Kirschbaum, International Studies Program, Glendon College; and Neal Madras, Department of Mathematics & Statistics, Faculty of Arts.

York’s new distinguished research professor is Hiroshi Ono, Department of Psychology, Faculty of Arts.

The six new Canada Research Chairs at York are: Colin Coates, Canadian cultural landscapes; David Hood, cell physiology; Janine Marchesseault, art, digital media and globalization; Steve Mason, cultural identity and interaction in the Greco-Roman world; Bridget Stutchbury, ecology and conservation; and James Whiteway, space engineering and atmospheric science.