Capturing the prize

Two York graduate students have been selected as winners of the 2002 Canadian Policy Research Awards Graduate Student Prize.

Gregory Klages, a PHD student at York and Dayna Scott, a York graduate student are two of fifteen winners from across Canada who will be sponsored to attend a seminar and conference on research and the policy process in Ottawa this October.

The event is designed not only to recognize their research excellence but also to familiarize them with the policy research environment in our nation”s capital.  The annual four-day forum features the latest research on a rich array of issues and attracts leading researchers from Canada and abroad.

In addition to the sponsorship, Klages and Scott will be recognized at the Canadian Policy Research Aewards DInner on Oct. 24, together with the winers in five other categories who have made a contribution to public policy research in Canada.

The program is sponsored by the Canadian Policy Research Awards, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Council (NSERC) and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC).

More informationon the conference and awards is available at