Deadline March 10: President’s Sustainability Leadership Awards

President's Sustainability Leadership Awards
President’s Sustainability Leadership Awards

Nominations for the President’s Sustainability Leadership Awards will be accepted until March 10. The awards recognize students, faculty and staff who are contributing to making York University a leader in sustainability among post-secondary institutions.

By recognizing the important work that sustainability champions are doing at York University, the awards celebrate this work and encourage others to get involved in sustainability initiatives on the University’s campuses. The President’s Sustainability Leadership Awards is now in its fourth year, and up to five awards will be given out.

Any student, faculty or staff member from the University community can nominate any other individual or group for consideration. Nominees will be considered for the award based on their demonstrated leadership in sustainability, specifically through the following criteria:

  • the overall impact of the nominee’s contributions to sustainability on campus, including the depth (how significant the contribution is) and breadth (how widespread, collaborative and/or replicable the contribution is);
  • degree of innovation and originality, and/or degree of enhancement (to existing initiatives); and
  • how the individual or group went “over and above the call of duty” (additional time and resources committed that were not part of their job description or academic program).

To submit a nomination, visit the President’s Sustainability Leadership Awards page.

The nominations deadline is March 10, and award winners will be announced during the Earth Day event in April.

Previous winners of the President’s Sustainability Leadership Award include:


Nicole Arsenault

Jose Etcheverry

Finance Department

Mark Terry

John Wilson


Bonfire Implementation Team  (Procurement Services and Finance)

Food Services Department, CSBO

Glendon Roots and Shoots

Meagan Heath

Regenesis at York


Brad Cochrane

Tim Haagsma

Osgoode Sustainability Committee

Planning and Renovations Unit, CSBO

Helen Psathas