Annual Excalibur Volleyball Classic kicks off Thursday

The York University Lions men’s volleyball team will begin 2017 by welcoming three other Ontario University Athletics (OUA) squads and a team from Japan to the Tait McKenzie Centre for the 38th annual Excalibur Volleyball Classic, Jan. 5 to 8.

The action begins on Thursday, Jan. 5, with the host Lions (5-2) facing Budo University at 9pm. Also competing in the tournament are the Nipissing Lakers (5-1), the Queen’s Gaels (5-4) and the Western Mustangs (3-3). Preliminary round games continue on Friday and Saturday, with the bronze- and gold-medal games set for Sunday.

Visit for a full tournament schedule.

The action on the court promises to be intense as five high-calibre teams compete for the gold medal. The four OUA teams will also be looking for success they can build upon as they enter the second half of the season and, eventually, the playoffs later this semester.

The host Lions are the defending champions of the tournament after winning the gold medal last year, their first at the event since 1989 and their second overall Excalibur title. The Mustangs were the champions in 2015, which was their third title in five years, while Queen’s last won the trophy in 2002 and was also victorious in 1999. The Lakers are still looking for their first title.

Budo University is making its third appearance at the tournament, having previously travelled to Toronto to play at York in 2011 and 2013. The Lions also played against Budo in August 2012 as part of a team trip to Japan.

The Lions, Lakers and Gaels are all part of a three-way tie for second place in the OUA East Division after the first half of the season with 10 points apiece, while the Mustangs play in the OUA West and sit third with six points.

Tickets for the event can be purchased at the Tait McKenzie Centre prior to each game. Prices are $5 for each individual game and $25 for a family tournament pass (five family members).

Past champions:

  • 2016    York
  • 2015    Western
  • 2014    Laval
  • 2013    Ryerson
  • 2012    Western
  • 2011    Western
  • 2010    Laval
  • 2009    Dalhousie
  • 2008    Dalhousie
  • 2007    Manitoba
  • 2006    Manitoba
  • 2005    Ryerson
  • 2004    Ryerson
  • 2003    Laval
  • 2002    Queen’s
  • 2001    Toronto
  • 2000    Trinity Western
  • 1999    Queen’s
  • 1998    Tskuba (Japan)
  • 1997    Sherbrooke
  • 1996    Laval
  • 1995    Manitoba
  • 1994    Laval
  • 1993    Montreal
  • 1992    McMaster
  • 1991    Calgary
  • 1990    Manitoba
  • 1989    York
  • 1988    Penn State
  • 1987    Winnipeg
  • 1986    Penn State
  • 1985    Manitoba
  • 1984    Ball State
  • 1983    Manitoba
  • 1982    Alberta
  • 1981    Penn State
  • 1980    Penn State