Gala will celebrate York University researchers

The groundbreaking research, thought leadership and scholarship of York University researchers will be celebrated Wednesday, Feb. 27 during a gala event.

Hosted by York University’s President and Vice-Chancellor Mamdouh Shoukri and Vice-President Research & Innovation Robert Haché, the gala pays tribute to the University’s 2012-2013 research leaders. The recipient of the President’s Research Excellence Award will be announced at the gala.

RobertHacheRobert Haché

“York is proud to celebrate and recognize the achievements of many of our leading faculty and student researchers,” said Shoukri. “Our researchers are helping us understand what is happening around the globe, while responding to the most pressing challenges facing Canada and the world.”

“Each honouree has demonstrated their dedication to excellence in research and scholarship in their own unique way,” said Haché. “The gala provides an opportunity to recognize the breadth of accomplishments by York researchers over the past year and particularly those who have received top honours and accolades from external agencies, nationally and internationally.”

ShoukriMamdouh Shoukri

Festivities begin at 2pm and will continue until 5pm in 1005 Osgoode Hall Law School (Moot Court). The event features a keynote speech by Jim Stanford, an economist with the Canadian Auto Workers, Canada’s largest private sector trade union. Stanford is the author of Economics for Everyone (2008). He is a frequent contributor to CBC Television’s “The National” appearing on the program’s The Bottom Line panel, and a columnist for The Globe and Mail newspaper.

The event will be a celebration of a wide spectrum of researchers across the University, including faculty and students. Among the many researchers to be honoured are, Professors Carl James and Norman Yan, were inducted into the Royal Society of Canada as Fellows; Trudeau Fellow Janine Marchessault; Faculty of Health Dean Harvey Skinner; and Early Researcher Award recipients Natasha Myers and Thilo Womelsdorf.

All are invited to attend. Click here to RSVP for the event.