York team wins first in accounting case competition

picture of York team winning first place in Accounting Case Competition

A team of York students took home first place in the 2012 Achieve Conference & Competition (ACC) hosted by the Ryerson University Accounting Society, Jan. 26 to 28, in Toronto.

The group was among 11 teams in the competition from universities across Canada. The event provided an opportunity for the students to demonstrate their skills in front of a panel of industry professionals. Each team was given two hours to analyze an accounting case and then present their findings to the judges. This year, the cases covered a variety of topics, including social media, social responsibility and the global business environment. The students were tested on their knowledge of accounting concepts while engaging in these contemporary issues.

The team of accounting students who won first place in a national competitionYork University’s winning team

Out of the three teams representing York University’s School of Administrative Studies, the team of accounting majors won the grand prize of $1,500, a trophy and bragging rights. The winning team was comprised of fourth-year students Seema Akram, Jason Cai, Naveed Khalid and Talwinder Singh.

In addition to the case competition, the York teams participated in a series of workshops and presentations led by industry professionals. The theme of this year’s event was “Winning in Business & Life”. The actual case presented to the student teams was written by members of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Ontario.

As an added bonus for the student participants, a series of networking sessions offered an opportunity for each team to connect with students from other universities and industry professionals. The event was held in the Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel.

The other teams representing York University were also from the Bachelor of Administrative Studies accounting major stream. The participants were second-year student Ammar Faizy, third-year student Elvin Aghayev, and fourth-year students Muzammil Kukawadia, Gerome Abaca, Manprit Sandhu, Jenny Wong, Hamid Qaheri and Monica Moninhas.