York Professor Albert Ng named to the Order of Ontario

York adjunct Professor Albert Kai-Wing Ng of the Department of Design, Faculty of Fine Arts, is one of 27 recipients named by Lieutenant Governor David Onley to the Order of Ontario. Another two recipients are York graduates, while three more are York honorary degree holders.

The new recipients of the Order of Ontario, the province’s highest award for excellence and achievement in any field, were announced Dec. 19 by the Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration.

As one of Canada’s best-known graphic designers, Ng founded the Association of Registered Graphic Designers of Ontario in 1996 and established the first professional accreditation for graphic designers in North America; it was also second in the world.

Right: Albert Ng

In addition, Ng was instrumental in establishing the province’s first honours design degree, a joint venture between York University and the Sheridan Institute of Technology & Advanced Learning. He also helped establish a post-graduate design program at York.

He is considered a strategic thinker and planner with more than 30 years of experience as a graphic designer. Ng is the first Canadian graphic designer to be made a Fellow of both the Society of Graphic Designers of Canada and the Association of Registered Graphic Designers of Ontario.

He is also a recipient of the 2005 Chinese-Canadian Legend Award for his contribution to Canada and is the former vice-president of the International Council of Graphic Design Associations.

Fellow Order of Ontario recipient Roy McMurtry (LLB ‘58) has a long history of public service and community involvement. He is the former chief justice of Ontario (1996 to 2007) and a former attorney general of Ontario (1975 to 1985).

His accomplishments include major roles in the patriation of the Canadian Constitution, the creation of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms and the creation of a bilingual judicial system.

Right: Roy McMurtry

Starting in 1985, McMurtry served as Canada’s High Commissioner to Britain for three years. He then returned to the practice of law and was chairman and CEO of the Canadian Football League for a time.

David Lepofsky (LLB ‘79), acclaimed human rights lawyer, advocate and activist was appointed to the Order of Ontario for his work on behalf of people with disabilities in Ontario.

Lepofsky’s work helped lead to the establishment of the Ontarians with Disabilities Act 2001 and the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act 2005. His work provides an inspiring example of how individuals can come together to insist on legal and social change.

Two years ago, Lepofsky, who is blind, won a 10-year battle with the Toronto Transit Commission when an Ontario Human Rights Tribunal ordered the transit authority to immediately begin announcing all subway stops. He is now fighting to have the TTC announce all stops on its bus and streetcar routes as well.

Peter Herrndorf, who received an honorary doctorate in law from York in 1989, is a recipient of the Order of Ontario for revolutionizing Canadian broadcasting, publishing and the performing arts at organizations such as the CBC, Toronto Life magazine and TVOntario. He is president and CEO of the National Arts Centre in Ottawa and sits on the board of directors of the CBC.

Left: David Lepofsky

In the 1970s and early 1980s, Herrndorf worked as head and later network vice-president at CBC/Radio-Canada. From 1983 to 1992, he was publisher of Toronto Life, then took over as chair and CEO of TVOntario for the next seven years. He was made an Officer of the Order of Canada in 1993.

Lorraine Monk, who received a York honorary Doctor of Letters in 1982, gained her appointment to the Order of Ontario for her contribution not only to Ontario, but all of Canada. Her award-winning books and several hundred photographic exhibitions have garnered acclaim and international recognition. Her belief in the power of photography to change the world led her to create the Photographer for Peace Foundation.

Monk was executive producer of the Still Photography Division of the National Film Board of Canada for 20 years starting in 1960. In 1967, she produced six photographic books celebrating Canada’s 100th birthday.

In 1973, Monk was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada, the same year she became the first recipient of the Gold Medal award by the National Association for Photographic Art. In 2002, she received the Queen’s Golden Jubilee Medal: the Commemorative Medal for significant contribution to Canada.

Tak Wah Mak, who received a York honorary Doctor of Science in 2004, was named to the Order of Ontario for his discovery of the T-cell receptor as well as his work in molecular biology and his pioneering contributions in the genetics of immunology. He is an internationally respected biomedical scientist and his research has led to critical discoveries in determining which genes are responsible for the function of T-cells and their role in cancer.

Right: Tak Wah Mak

Mak joined the faculty of the University of Toronto in 1975, where he works as a cancer researcher and professor of medical biophysics and immunology. He is also the director of the Advanced Medical Discovery Institute and the Campbell Family Institute for Breast Cancer Research in the University Health Network.

Mak was made an Officer of the Order of Canada in 2000. He is also a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and a Fellow of the Royal Society of London.

Including December’s recipients, 460 people have received the Order of Ontario since its inception in 1987. The appointees will be invested in the Order of Ontario at a ceremony at Queen’s Park on Jan. 24.