Memorial service today for the victims at Virginia Tech

Members of the York community are invited to attend a memorial service hosted by the Interfaith Council at York in support of the families and 32 victims at the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg, Va. 

The service will be held today, at noon, on the Harry Arthurs Common on York’s Keele campus. Those attending the service should meet by the York flagpole. In case of inclement weather, the service will be moved to Vari Hall.

Here are the names of the victims:

  • Ross Abdallah Alameddine
  • Professor Christopher James Bishop
  • Brian Roy Bluhm
  • Ryan Christopher Clark
  • Austin Michelle Cloyd
  • Professor Jocelyne Couture-Nowak
  • Professor Kevin P. Granata
  • Matthew Gregory Gwaltney
  • Caitlin Millar Hammaren
  • Jeremy Michael Herbstritt
  • Rachael Elizabeth Hill
  • Emily Jane Hilscher
  • Jarrett Lee Lane
  • Matthew Joseph La Porte
  • Henry J. Lee
  • Professor Liviu Librescu
  • Professor G.V. Loganathan
  • Partahi Mamora Halomoan Lumbantoruan
  • Lauren Ashley McCain
  • Daniel Patrick O’Neil
  • Juan Ramon Ortiz-Ortiz
  • Minal Hiralal Panchal
  • Daniel Alejandro Perez-Cueva
  • Erin Nicole Peterson
  • Michael Steven Pohle, Jr.
  • Julia Kathleen Pryde
  • Mary Karen Read
  • Reema Joseph Samaha
  • Waleed Mohamed Shaalan
  • Leslie Geraldine Sherman
  • Maxine Shelly Turner
  • Nicole White