Recognizing student excellence in French

On Tuesday, Dec. 5, the Department of French Studies, Faculty of Arts, held its annual awards ceremony to honour students for their outstanding achievements.

This year the awards ceremony welcomed a special guest, Philippe Delacroix, consul general of France in Toronto. Delacroix presented the Consul General of France Prize to Elise Goodman. The award is given to a French Studies student who has demonstrated exceptional participation in francophone cultural activities outside the University.

Left: Philippe Delacroix (left), consul general of France in Toronto, presented Faculty of Arts student Elise Goodman with the Consul General of France Prize.

As he began his remarks for the presentation to Goodman, Delacroix joked that he would speak in Canada’s second official language, English. He thanked parents for encouraging their children to pursue an education in French Studies. “I am happy to see that parents recognize that if their children are going to be prime minister, they are going to need to be bilingual,” said Delacroix.

The ceremony included departmental prizes and Convocation prizes, a special category for upper year students, that are awarded annually to students for outstanding academic achievement working towards a Bachelor of Arts degree in French Studies.

The Convocation Prize recipients were:

  • Donald Jackson Book Prize, Vann-Ly Cheng
  • Hédi Bouraoui Essay Prize, Martha Istanbul
  • David M. Walker Memorial Award, Davida Fahie
  • Dept. of French Studies Award, Alexandra Misan
  • Consul General of France Prize, Elise Goodman

Department prizes are awarded to recognize outstanding academic achievement in each of the three areas of the French Studies curriculum: language, literature and linguistics. Recipients of these prizes are selected at all four levels of study: The Chair’s Prize is awarded to the top graduating French Studies student.

Above: Award winners pose with members of the Department of French Studies
and guests of honour

The prize winners in this category were:  

  • Chair’s Prize, Vann-Ly Cheng
  • Fourth-year Linguistics Prize, Susan Saraiva
  • Fourth-year Literature Prize, Martha Istanbul
  • Third-year Merit Award, Ben Haniel Cherette
  • Second-year Merit Award, Dean Melnyk
  • First-year Merit Award, Marlene Muller