Celebrating 10 years of nursing excellence

Cheryl van Daalen, professor of nursing at York University, welcomed over 150 students, staff, parents and nursing dignitaries to the School of Nursing’s 10th Anniversary Celebration recently.

Pioneers of the York nursing program including Kathleen Macdonald, June Awrey, Martha Rogers, Darlene Hall and Karen Crotin, were acknowledged with beautiful Innukshuk carvings signifying their roles in forging York’s strong history of excellence in nursing studies.

The celebration, which took place on June 15, featured greetings from Rhonda Lenton, Dean of Atkinson College, Pat Hall, Chair of Seneca School of Nursing, and Liz Irwin, Chair of Georgian School of Nursing. Nursing pioneer Kathleen Macdonald provided the audience with the history of nursing at York. Graduates from York’s first post-RN graduating class and the first collaborative BScN program spoke about their experiences in the school and where those experiences have taken them professionally and personally.

Following the 10th anniversary celebration, York graduates were honored with several awards including Exceptional Scholar Awards, School Spirit Awards, Praxis Awards for Clinical Excellence and the prestigious June Awrey Award for Leadership.

The event closed with music provided by musicians from the Faculty of Fine Arts School of Music and light refreshments were served.

This article was submitted to YFile by Cheryl van Daalen.